PDA

View Full Version : PB G3 Running OsX


Pistol Pete
Jun 1, 2005, 09:11 PM
i have a lombard at 333mhz and was wondering how it runs osx?

with the proper 512mb of ram and a 5400rpm HD of course

Thanks,
Peter

ITASOR
Jun 1, 2005, 09:15 PM
Which version? Panther should run OK. I don't know about Tiger...it's worth a try though!

sonofapplepm
Jun 1, 2005, 09:16 PM
It should run without a hitch! That's plenty of ram. It will be a bit slower than the G5 though.

Pistol Pete
Jun 1, 2005, 09:17 PM
have you had personal experience?

i have an old AIO that has like 500+ mbs of ram running at 266mhz and 10.2 runs very bearable on....

i might just save and buy a newer model.

GFLPraxis
Jun 1, 2005, 09:31 PM
Panther runs fine on my 500 MHz Pismo G3.

I should point out that Tiger runs FASTER than Panther. ITASOR is incorrect on that. If Tiger will install on that model (not sure on that, don't have Tiger) it'll run better than Panther.

Pistol Pete
Jun 1, 2005, 09:43 PM
well tiger doesnt support lombards...on macs with FW (pismo for example)

i could put tiger on 2 ways...

1. install it on the laptop HD in an external enclousure connected to a mac with FW.

2. use XPostFacto

Thanks

sonofapplepm
Jun 1, 2005, 10:38 PM
[QUOTE=Pistol Pete]have you had personal experience?

Yes, i have a clamshell 366mhz with 320mb ram and it runs fine. I guess it depends on what kind of performance you are looking for! My opinion is that Panther runs plenty good enough for my everyday tasks!

Pistol Pete
Jun 2, 2005, 05:47 AM
thanks sonofapplepm thats what i was lookin for!!!

cluthz
Jun 3, 2005, 05:48 AM
Running panther on a ibook 300 mhz with 384 mb ram.. works ok.