PDA

View Full Version : Windows on multiple partition - help




MrAndy1369
Jan 3, 2012, 12:43 AM
I was hoping you'd help me tackle this somewhat complicated setup.

Basically, I'm planning to reinstall Lion fresh, and I'd like to setup four partitions. Here's the following partitions I'd like to set up:

-OSX HD (default for OSX/applications)
-Data
-Backups (for Time Machine)
-Windows (for Windows)

I have a new, late-2011 MBP 13", and a 750GB HD, so I have plenty of space to work with.

The problem is that Boot Camp will only work with the default configuration (creating another partition) and will not support multiple partitions. Thus, my dilemma. I have read that it is possible to install Windows using ReFi on multiple partitions, but the instructions I read are unclear and just overall hard to understand. I need help on how to do this successfully, because I'm still new to OSX and Mac's in general.

I'm still downloading the Lion installer (so I can boot it from a DVD/USB and install it from there instead of using the Recovery HD), so I have some time. Let me know the following:

-Should I have the installer/disk utility erase all the partitions I have set up, so I can use Boot Camp to install Windows, or should I skip that step? (I currently have the 3 partitions listed above set up.)

-Anything I should do first?

-I have burned ReFit to a CD so that's set.

Thanks, and apologies in advance if this is too complicated or hard to understand. I did try the Search function without success. However, any tips within the next two hours or so would be incredibly helpful. :)

Thanks!



johnhurley
Jan 3, 2012, 08:15 AM
I was hoping you'd help me tackle this somewhat complicated setup.

Basically, I'm planning to reinstall Lion fresh, and I'd like to setup four partitions. Here's the following partitions I'd like to set up:

-OSX HD (default for OSX/applications)
-Data
-Backups (for Time Machine)
-Windows (for Windows)

I have a new, late-2011 MBP 13", and a 750GB HD, so I have plenty of space to work with.

The problem is that Boot Camp will only work with the default configuration (creating another partition) and will not support multiple partitions. Thus, my dilemma. I have read that it is possible to install Windows using ReFi on multiple partitions, but the instructions I read are unclear and just overall hard to understand. I need help on how to do this successfully, because I'm still new to OSX and Mac's in general.

I'm still downloading the Lion installer (so I can boot it from a DVD/USB and install it from there instead of using the Recovery HD), so I have some time. Let me know the following:

-Should I have the installer/disk utility erase all the partitions I have set up, so I can use Boot Camp to install Windows, or should I skip that step? (I currently have the 3 partitions listed above set up.)

-Anything I should do first?

-I have burned ReFit to a CD so that's set.

Thanks, and apologies in advance if this is too complicated or hard to understand. I did try the Search function without success. However, any tips within the next two hours or so would be incredibly helpful. :)

Thanks!

If I were you I would think about a less complicated setup. Not that what you have proposed is impossible ... but sometimes simpler is better.

First figure out how much room you really need for bootcamp. Much easier if you get the sizing right out of the box without a need for a subsequent re-allocation/re-sizing.

If possible I would either have your data partition not as separate but as within your mac os x ( primary ) partition. Or if necessary as data space(s) within both mac os x and within bootcamp.

Keep your time machine backups ( and some kind of backup strategy for bootcamp partition ) on a separate hard drive ... please.

Time machine will keep local backups on your mac os x primary partition and have these available/useable until it gets an available external drive to save those interim backups off onto. ( Some bugs reported at times with not freeing space for local backups ... your mileage may vary ). That is unless you disable the local time machine backups.