PDA

View Full Version : powerbook prismo firewire


13erla
Jun 6, 2005, 01:35 AM
Hey need a little help.

I have a powerbook g3 prismo. i know the ac adapter works cuz it worked in a lombard. i have the prismo plugged in and when i hit power i get nothing. no error beeps nothing.

i know nothing about how this powerbook came into not working. we've had it in a closet at work for quite some time.


any suggestions? i'm not opposed to tearing it open if necessary.

CanadaRAM
Jun 6, 2005, 01:43 AM
Hey need a little help.

I have a powerbook g3 prismo. i know the ac adapter works cuz it worked in a lombard. i have the prismo plugged in and when i hit power i get nothing. no error beeps nothing.

Pismo

Try this

" 1. If the computer is on, turn it off.
2. Press and release the reset button on the rear of the computer. The reset button is located between the external video and modem (RJ-11) ports.
3. Wait 5 seconds.
4. Press the Power button to restart the PowerBook computer.

Note: When you reset the Power Manager, wait at least 5 seconds before pressing the Power button to start up the computer. If you do not wait at least 5 seconds, the reset procedure may fail. (If you suspect that the reset procedure has failed, press and release the reset button again and wait 5 seconds before pressing the Power button.)"


http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=14449

13erla
Jun 6, 2005, 01:47 AM
thanks,

after doing reset.. and waiting over 5 seconds.. still nothing.

not a single noise

CanadaRAM
Jun 6, 2005, 01:54 AM
You may have a fried machine, of course. But it's more likely a problem with batteries if its been in storage for some time. I take it there are no lights on the battery when the machine is plugged in?

There is an internal battery in the Pismo that may be shot. Unfortunately it's a proprietary battery, and costs $45- $60 from eBay or from Apple Service.

13erla
Jun 6, 2005, 01:56 AM
ok so you figure the internal battery is bad then?

the battery itself has no lights.. same for the system light.. nothing.


gotta geta replacement maybe.. if that's the option i'll look into that then.