PDA

View Full Version : My New PowerMac G5 is Dieing!!

hob
Jun 6, 2005, 01:34 PM
OK, for those of you who don't know me at all well I've been using macs for about 2 years now - and computers my entire life... but this has got me stumped, and slightly upset.

I had my G5 for about 3 weeks and left it on pretty much 24/7. I went away for a weekend and switched it off for the first time ever!! When I came back, I switched it on and got a horriffic whirring/clicking sound coming from somewhere inside the top 1/4 - the drive bay area. I fiddled around for a while, what I found worked was switching it off - unplugging the superdrive, and HDD - switching the machine on and plugging them back in.

I don't know if that solution actually worked or if the problem just went away by itself.

Anyway, it did go away until last night. I was listening to some music on my G5 whilst it was running some apps and the display had turned off - I was on the other side of my room. Suddenly... ALL the fans came on FULL BLAST! It was louder than anything I'd ever heard a G5 make. It seemed every single fan was on full blast - this is louder than when the side panel is off.

I switched it to standby, switched it back on again and it fixed itself. I left it as normal and went to sleep - I woke up in the middle of the night. The G5 had woken my mum and she was banging on my door!! Now it seems that both problems are occuring intermittantly at the same time... It's either clicking or blowing or both... What's wrong with my beautiful new machine?!

Hob

punkbass25
Jun 6, 2005, 01:41 PM
thats what warrantys are for i'd say

give apple a call

shadowmoses
Jun 6, 2005, 02:04 PM
Maybe when you were away for the weekend someone accidently damaged the machine???? anyhow give apple a call as this shouldnt be happening or pop over to regents street and ask them for there opinion, always keen to help at the genius bar.. :confused:

Shadow :D

hob
Jun 6, 2005, 02:45 PM