Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MarximusMG

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 21, 2009
Denver
Just a total newbie question here, but I'm trying to figure out how to create a simple gradient background in AE. I'm messing around with some kinetic typography, and am wanting to make a background that's not simply solid.

How would I go about doing this? Thanks in advance.

Nov 28, 2010
located
Create a SOLID and apply a RAMP effect.
2012_01_14_pA1_AE_Ramp.png

or: "after effects gradient background"

MarximusMG

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 21, 2009
Denver
Thank you so much. I just figured that out right after I asked it. :roll eyes: I've precomposed several groups of text separately, and I guess now what I'm trying to figure out is how to make the background of each of these transparent so that the solid that I just created is visible? As is glaringly evident, I really have little experience in AE, so I appreciate the help!

Nov 28, 2010
located
Thank you so much. I just figured that out right after I asked it. :roll eyes: I've precomposed several groups of text separately, and I guess now what I'm trying to figure out is how to make the background of each of these transparent so that the solid that I just created is visible? As is glaringly evident, I really have little experience in AE, so I appreciate the help!

When I put the SOLID with the RAMP below a Pre-Composite (all text objects), the text is visible, as is the solid.
Does your Pre-Composite include any other layers?

images are clickable
2012_01_14_pA3_AE_Ramp_precomp.png

2012_01_14_pA4_AE_Ramp_COMP.png

12dylan34

macrumors 6502a
Sep 3, 2009
Also, I picked this up a while ago and found it very useful, but to make a gradient with more than two colors, apply a ramp, leave it black to white, then colorama on top of that, which will map the tones of grey to different colors that you select.

MarximusMG

macrumors 6502a