Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ssoler

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 7, 2005
Please Help! I need quality advice about buying my new G5. Here's the deal-I somehow talked my dad into getting me a G5 for my graduation present and to seal the deal I need to figure out all the right components that I need and then give my dad a price and hope that he still says yes. I am a video editor and am looking to get programs such as final cut pro, avid express, and of course I want my G5 to be big enough, fast enough, etc. to be able to use these programs along with others such as photoshop, image ready, and dvd studio pro. So any and all advice that you folks out there have on what I need to be able to happily and easily use these programs would be much appreciated. Thanks! Stacy.

James Philp

macrumors 65816
Mar 5, 2005
Oxford/London
I don't know if you know the recent news, but if you're getting one anyway..

Go for the cheapest DUAL CHIP model (currently the Dual 2.0GHz).
Upgrade the RAM to AT LEAST 1GB and remember to budget for a screen (a 23" screen or even just a couple of 20"s should be good)
Also think of upgrading the video card and Hard Drive -250GB should be good.
Try to get a throw-in of an iPod of some kind. When the purchase is this big, it hardly makes a difference!

I would recommend AppleCare (cheap for PowerMac G5s and the screen is included for free!). This guarantees your Mac a lifetime of 3 years.

Enjoy, they are still great machines despite recent news (of Apple moving to intel CPUs if you didn't know)

EDIT: Also get bluetooth & airport - you never know!

Dont Hurt Me

macrumors 603
Dec 21, 2002
Yahooville S.C.