PDA

View Full Version : Will you buy a Mac AFTER they switch to Intel processors?

GodBless
Jun 8, 2005, 09:30 PM
Also what are the deciding factors? Did you only stay with Apple for PPC, are you a mad developer who doesn't like all the headaches Apple has caused with the many transitions that make your applications unusable until you update them, are you going to be happy to dual boot windows or will you be happy to have a processor with a faster clock speed? Tell me what you think.

(This poll is not to get confused with MacRumors' "Will you buy a Mac BEFORE they switch to Intel processors?" poll.)

GodBless
Jun 8, 2005, 09:34 PM
Definitely option 1.

How can you find a better way to prove that OS X runs faster and smoother than Windows without tests being on the same system?

feakbeak
Jun 8, 2005, 09:37 PM
I just bought a Mac mini a few months ago, my first Mac. I've used them before quite a bit in college though, so I wasn't a complete newb. By the time I will need/want to replace my Mac mini the dust should be settling from the transition to x86 and I'll buy one then.

i like Windows and OS X, so I really don't care too much about the configurations. I'd be willing to run OS X on non-Apple hardware if allowed or if it could be easily hacked and didn't have too many driver issues. I'd also be willing to buy Apple hardware if I liked the design, performance and cost of the machine. I'm not a cheap Wintel fanboy, but I am reasonable. I have my Mac mini out in my living area with an LCD because it looks nice there. The loud beige box is in the bedroom with the monsterous CRT... it doens't look pretty, so I hide it away. Still, I'd be willing to run either OS on either machine and/or dual-boot one or more of them. The more options the better, IMO.

cooknwitha
Jun 8, 2005, 09:42 PM
Option 2.

I use Macs because I loathe Windows. Changing to Intel won't change that.

mad jew
Jun 8, 2005, 09:43 PM
Option 2.

Isn't Option 1 unsupported?

Capt Underpants