PDA

View Full Version : Random iBook Question


The_Man
Jun 10, 2005, 09:32 AM
I went to crucial.com like suggested in my last post, and they informed me that the apple iBook has only one slot or bank to insert the memory. Is this true?

So If I wanted to upgrade to a gig I would need to take out the standard 256mb of RAM and put in a whole new gig and not just add 768 to the stock 256?

_________________________________________________________________

Also, would this work in an iBook
Module Size: 1GB
Package: 200-pin SODIMM
Feature: DDR PC2100
Configuration: 128Meg x 64
DIMM Type: UNBUFFERED
Error Checking: NON-ECC
Speed: 266
SDRAM Timings: CL=2.5
Specs: DDR PC2100 CL=2.5 UNBUFFERED NON-ECC DDR266 2.5V 128Meg x 64


Thx
_________________________________________________________________

:D ~OMG~ROFL~LOL~LMAO~ :D

buryyourbrideau
Jun 10, 2005, 09:33 AM
the 256 is built in and has one slot for non built in memory

so you can buy a stick of 768

Quartz Extreme
Jun 10, 2005, 09:34 AM
I don't know if this helps, but my G3 iBook is like that. It has 64MB soldered on the motherboard, and one slot that I have a 256MB card in.

I would suggest DealRAM.com if you are in the market for more memory.

gwimby
Jun 10, 2005, 11:37 AM
You can't buy a stick of 768mb! :p

They don't exhist naturally in the wild.
Its always doubles 16>32>64>128>256>512>1024mb
You'd have 768 if you bought a 512mb stick, or 1280mb if you bought a 1gb stick. Give or take a mb or two.

The_Man
Jun 10, 2005, 01:03 PM
Also, would this be compatible in an iBook...


Module Size: 1GB
Package: 200-pin SODIMM
Feature: DDR PC2100
Configuration: 128Meg x 64
DIMM Type: UNBUFFERED
Error Checking: NON-ECC
Speed: 266
SDRAM Timings: CL=2.5
Specs: DDR PC2100 CL=2.5 UNBUFFERED NON-ECC DDR266 2.5V 128Meg x 64


Thx

CanadaRAM
Jun 10, 2005, 01:07 PM
Also, would this be compatible in an iBook...
Module Size: 1GB
Package: 200-pin SODIMM
Feature: DDR PC2100
Configuration: 128Meg x 64
DIMM Type: UNBUFFERED
Error Checking: NON-ECC
Speed: 266
SDRAM Timings: CL=2.5
Specs: DDR PC2100 CL=2.5 UNBUFFERED NON-ECC DDR266 2.5V 128Meg x 64


If the seller guarantees it is compatible, it is compatible
Otherwise, there is no way for you to know from the specification. Macs require certain settings in the SPD chip, which you can't read from the specification.

If you purchase from a reputable seller who tests and guarantees Mac compatibility, you'll be fine.


PS. Please make your thread titles more descriptive of the question you are asking.

The_Man
Jun 10, 2005, 01:13 PM
Once I Put in the RAM, how will I know for sure if it is working.

If it says the correct RAM in the 'about' section, does that mean that it is working?

CanadaRAM
Jun 10, 2005, 01:32 PM
Once I Put in the RAM, how will I know for sure if it is working.

If it says the correct RAM in the 'about' section, does that mean that it is working?

No, it means it has been recognized by the operating system, but it has not been tested.

You got an Apple Hardware Test CD with the machine -- run that several times to test the RAM.

jestershinra
Jun 10, 2005, 01:33 PM
Once I Put in the RAM, how will I know for sure if it is working.

If it says the correct RAM in the 'about' section, does that mean that it is working?

yes

CubaTBird
Jun 10, 2005, 01:39 PM
I went to crucial.com like suggested in my last post, and they informed me that the apple iBook has only one slot or bank to insert the memory. Is this true?

So If I wanted to upgrade to a gig I would need to take out the standard 256mb of RAM and put in a whole new gig and not just add 768 to the stock 256?

_________________________________________________________________

Also, would this work in an iBook
Module Size: 1GB
Package: 200-pin SODIMM
Feature: DDR PC2100
Configuration: 128Meg x 64
DIMM Type: UNBUFFERED
Error Checking: NON-ECC
Speed: 266
SDRAM Timings: CL=2.5
Specs: DDR PC2100 CL=2.5 UNBUFFERED NON-ECC DDR266 2.5V 128Meg x 64


Thx
_________________________________________________________________

:D ~OMG~ROFL~LOL~LMAO~ :D


yeah the ibook comes with 256 built in and u could put a max of 1.2 gb in it.. myself i have the 256 built in with a 512 add in card... thing is don't go apple... go third party... crucial is fine..