PDA

View Full Version : Can I install my old drive in my new Mac Pro




percival504
Jan 31, 2012, 03:00 PM
I'm moving from a dual core MBP to a hexacore 3.33 Mac Pro (apropos nothing: I am going to install 2 X25-es and 32GB RAM - I expect that it will... umm fly :)).

Can I just install my MBP boot drive in my Mac Pro (as the boot drive)? The MBP drive is based upon the original OS that came pre-installed. As I understand it, when that is the case, the OS will not work on different hardware - for example, I know that you can only use the recovery disk on the computer that it came with - or am I mistaken?

I ask because I am running a little wiki server now (Lion Server), and I cannot find a decent answer about how to migrate it.



simsaladimbamba
Jan 31, 2012, 03:02 PM
If you have the latest 10.6.8 or 10.7.x version installed on that MBP, you will have the drivers for the 2010/11 Mac Pro, thus can use it as boot drive. You could also put the MBP into Target (http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1661) Disk (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Target_Disk_Mode) Mode (http://guides.macrumors.com/Target_Disk_Mode) and clone the MBP's HDD onto the MP's HDD via CarbonCopyCloner (http://www.bombich.com).

minifridge1138
Jan 31, 2012, 03:25 PM
If you have the latest 10.6.8 or 10.7.x version installed on that MBP, you will have the drivers for the 2010/11 Mac Pro, thus can use it as boot drive. You could also put the MBP into Target (http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1661) Disk (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Target_Disk_Mode) Mode (http://guides.macrumors.com/Target_Disk_Mode) and clone the MBP's HDD onto the MP's HDD via CarbonCopyCloner (http://www.bombich.com).

That's correct.
It accomplishes the same thing as moving the hard drive, but saves you the trouble of physically moving drives.
I believe with a firewire cable you could also use migration assistant on the new computer to copy the users and applications to the new one.