Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ethan86

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 14, 2009
I am looking for a program to make SNES-era-looking RPGs and platformers for iOS. So far, I have looked at Cocos2d, Cocos3d, Gamesalad, Game Editor, and StencylWorks. I'm leaning toward Game Editor and StencylWorks (They look the easiest to work with) but would like some opinions on the other ones, or suggestions of programs not mentioned. Has anyone here used any of the mentioned programs? I have limited programming experience (Visual Basic), so I would prefer to use something that is not programming heavy.

seepel

macrumors 6502
Dec 22, 2009
I've used cocoa2d extensively and I think it is very well suited to your task. I think to get a polished product you'll have to get your hands dirty with code though. I haven't worked with the "less code" game engines by I suspect that the types of games you will be able to make with them is somewhat limited.

Suspended
May 1, 2010
California
Cocos2d is just a wrapper over an API or programming language. It's not really a game creation program. What it does is make it easier to create a game. Its a game engine.

Others out there can be scripting engines, they bypass the native language and you write the game logic in their script.

Creating a game without coding much can be done, but this will usually be at the cost of control. Example, if you want the game to do something very specific, you may or may not be able to based on the scripting language. If you have big plans for this game, use care in selecting the tools you use, some products will drop support and die off without warning, leaving you out in the cold.

Cocos2d is user supported, no fees, open source.

With Cocos2d you are really working with the native api in the native language

chrono1081

macrumors G3
Jan 26, 2008
Isla Nublar