PDA

View Full Version : Mac Pro 1,1 Stopped working. HELP! Dead logic board?




tonkem
Feb 11, 2012, 04:16 PM
I was installing some new software for my windows 7 install in Parallels, and the screen froze. It would not do anything else, so I did a hard restart, by holding down power button til shutoff. When I rebooted it never would go back to Lion(I had 10.7.2). I pulled the main drive from the machine and connected to my laptop(Macbook air) and the drive was fine and was able to boot to the drive. I have a time machine backup of all the drives in my mac pro(of which I have 4) 3 main drives and one time machine. Long story short, I formatted the main drive, and attempted to reinstall lion on it, but the mac pro would only show EFI boot when I would hold control when booting. I then put in my old snow leopard DVD and it would show up under the boot menu but would never begin the install. Last resort, I formatted my 320 gig external 2.5" drive and installed lion, and did a restore from my time machine to the external, and re connected via usb to the mac pro, and got to the boot menu, selected the new drive with the time machine restore on it, but it would never boot, just sat at the grey screen with that spinning circle(not the beach ball) under the Apple logo, then went away, and never booted. I can connect the same drive to my macbook air and boot from the external no problem. Any ideas? Logic board? I have had this machine since 2009 and have never had any trouble. I don't have the original install discs, as I purchased used.

Please help, I am to the point of taking to apple to have the fix as I don't want to spend another $2000 on a new one.

Thanks.

Tony



nambuccaheadsau
Feb 12, 2012, 05:12 PM
Tried an SMC reset?


http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3964

ashman70
Feb 12, 2012, 05:38 PM
You could probably find a used one for between $700 and $900, more then a logic board might cost you, but you'd have a whole second computer for parts.

tonkem
Feb 12, 2012, 09:07 PM
Here is a screen of what it shows is going on, any ideas?

LINK (https://files.me.com/tonkem/c4xw59)

Thanks for your help.

Tony

I was installing some new software for my windows 7 install in Parallels, and the screen froze. It would not do anything else, so I did a hard restart, by holding down power button til shutoff. When I rebooted it never would go back to Lion(I had 10.7.2). I pulled the main drive from the machine and connected to my laptop(Macbook air) and the drive was fine and was able to boot to the drive. I have a time machine backup of all the drives in my mac pro(of which I have 4) 3 main drives and one time machine. Long story short, I formatted the main drive, and attempted to reinstall lion on it, but the mac pro would only show EFI boot when I would hold control when booting. I then put in my old snow leopard DVD and it would show up under the boot menu but would never begin the install. Last resort, I formatted my 320 gig external 2.5" drive and installed lion, and did a restore from my time machine to the external, and re connected via usb to the mac pro, and got to the boot menu, selected the new drive with the time machine restore on it, but it would never boot, just sat at the grey screen with that spinning circle(not the beach ball) under the Apple logo, then went away, and never booted. I can connect the same drive to my macbook air and boot from the external no problem. Any ideas? Logic board? I have had this machine since 2009 and have never had any trouble. I don't have the original install discs, as I purchased used.

Please help, I am to the point of taking to apple to have the fix as I don't want to spend another $2000 on a new one.

Thanks.

Tony

Ccrew
Feb 13, 2012, 02:39 AM
Here is a screen of what it shows is going on, any ideas?


Kernel panic with the last active call being to CPU Power management.

Reset the SMC yet?

I'd also pop the ram and reseat.

666sheep
Feb 13, 2012, 03:30 AM
Get Service Manual for your MP model (google it ;)). Do what previous posters suggested. Check diagnostic LEDs on logic board (see manual for procedure and LEDs description).
What graphics card you have? Try to boot without it in Target Disk Mode.

ATM nothing indicates logic board failure, you need to troubleshoot it deeper to be 100% sure what the problem is.

tonkem
Feb 13, 2012, 07:16 AM
Kernel panic with the last active call being to CPU Power management.

Reset the SMC yet?

I'd also pop the ram and reseat.

Yes, I did the SMC reset, and popped the ram out and reseated all but the original 1 gig of ram, same thing.

Would this have anything to do with the reformat? Perhaps removing the original information regarding the install, and my MB not recognizing?

I will see if I can find a manual as well. Thanks.

Tony