PDA

View Full Version : Graphic Converter Browsing function setup




Pixelfergus
Feb 13, 2012, 08:28 AM
I am a Mac newbie, and have been using Capture NX2 to process my
RAW images. I just got GC to use as a browser and find it very fast
at loading my RAW files, however being new to Mac I confused
about Finder and Preview. It seems like when I click on
a folder "Preview" or "Finder" is browsing the folder from
within GC. It's just a little confusing. How do I setup the GC
so that Finder doesn't pop up as a browser?

Initially there was a dialog box to choose GC browser but
not any longer because I clicked the right lower box.

If I drag and drop the folder to view to the GC icon while
it's on the dock then the GC browser opens, but not always.
sometimes when I'm in the program viewing one image & wish
to return to the GC browser I can't get to it, & end up
in Finder or Preview.



MisterMe
Feb 13, 2012, 09:24 AM
There is no need for confusion. The Lion Finder enables thumbnail icons by default. You have two other options to preview media in the Finder--Cover Flow and Get Info....

Preview does not so much preview as it displays still media. If you open multiple images, thumbnails of them all appear in a drawer on the side.

GraphicConverter is a wonderful application that is an alternative to Photoshop Elements without the Adobe attitude. It can do just about everything that iPhoto does. It can convert among numerous graphic formats with the possible exception of cave drawing.

You are using the browse folder function. This opens a preview window that looks a lot like a Finder window. The similarity in appearance is probably the source of your confusion.

Veteran Mac users love the consistency across applications and hate inconsistency. Give yourself time.

Pixelfergus
Feb 13, 2012, 10:35 AM
thanks for your reply. I am reading the manual and many menu
options are linked to "Finder", I must be unwittingly opening Finder
by double clicking

also it's difficult to figure out which one is running
at that particular time, I guess I should investigate the
from down menus more