PDA

View Full Version : Is this ad legal?




Mitthrawnuruodo
Jun 15, 2005, 11:21 AM
Was just over in the rank the six Star Wars episodes thread, and an ad for this site (http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/iclk?adurl=http://www.FetchFlix.com/) caught my eye (se attachment). Is this scheme even legal?



jim.
Jun 15, 2005, 12:45 PM
Hmm.. quick whois lookup ...


Registrant:
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15511 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States

Registered through: GoDaddy.com
Domain Name: FETCHFLIX.COM
Created on: 23-Aug-04
Expires on: 23-Aug-05
Last Updated on: 27-Aug-04

Administrative Contact:
Private, Registration FETCHFLIX.COM@domainsbyproxy.com
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15511 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States
(480) 624-2599 Fax --
Technical Contact:
Private, Registration FETCHFLIX.COM@domainsbyproxy.com
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15511 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States
(480) 624-2599 Fax --

Domain servers in listed order:
NS5.SECURE-WEBHOSTING.COM
NS6.SECURE-WEBHOSTING.COM


Not very revealing. Also their technical support is a hotmail address(!). Doesn't seem very professional to me. I am also not aware of a US-based movie download service, as I am sure that the MPAA would be happy to announce one if it existed.

Jim

mischief
Jun 15, 2005, 12:53 PM
Domains By Proxy.... Does that sound like a fence to anyone else? Ping this one to the FCC.

CanadaRAM
Jun 15, 2005, 01:01 PM
If you click on the "Ads by Google" link under the banner, you can complain to Google, with details.

mpw
Jun 15, 2005, 01:13 PM
Was just over in the rank the six Star Wars episodes thread, and an ad for this site (http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/iclk?adurl=http://www.FetchFlix.com/) caught my eye (se attachment). Is this scheme even legal?

Over 80,000,000 movies online!

According to my calculations that's about 2,100 movies produced each day for 105 years which I think is about when moving pictures started. That's quite some database even if each movie was just a 1Gig file!

I smell a rat!

emw
Jun 15, 2005, 01:41 PM
Yeah, I like how you can't search the movie database until after you've joined...

mvc
Jun 16, 2005, 05:47 AM
Domains By Proxy.... Does that sound like a fence to anyone else? Ping this one to the FCC.
Domains By Proxy is offered by Godaddy (a legit and good value domain registrar) as a means to keep your personal details out of the hands of spammers and other lowlife who trawl for WHOIS details.

But I suppose it could also be used to help remain an obscure and untraceable web denizen.

StarbucksSam
Jun 16, 2005, 09:22 AM
Domains By Proxy.... Does that sound like a fence to anyone else? Ping this one to the FCC.

It is. I've used it on my sites before but usually it says that for all contacts. Their membership must have expired with them. I use it because I'm underage and I don't like my address released.

~Shard~
Jun 16, 2005, 05:33 PM
If it sounds too good to be true... :cool:

CanadaRAM
Jun 16, 2005, 06:35 PM
But I suppose it could also be used to help remain an obscure and untraceable web denizen.
You suppose?.. :D

dotdotdot
Jun 16, 2005, 08:39 PM
I can see some newbie just joining replying with: "omg yu GUYZ i Joinded! AND I got sum m0viez! its 100% real dudes! oomg i got to see like movies for flrree!!!!!!!!!!ONEONEone!!!111eleven!!!111"

Doctor Q
Jun 16, 2005, 09:23 PM
I can see some newbie just joining replying with: "omg yu GUYZ i Joinded! AND I got sum m0viez! its 100% real dudes! oomg i got to see like movies for flrree!!!!!!!!!!ONEONEone!!!111eleven!!!111"Spread the word: If you come to MacRumors, you can click on any of the ads for free! And some of them are even legitimate offers!

Sun Baked
Jun 16, 2005, 09:28 PM
Spread the word: If you come to MacRumors, you can click on any of the ads for free! And some of them are even legitimate offers!They are getting harder to find. :(

savar
Jun 17, 2005, 03:35 PM
Domains By Proxy.... Does that sound like a fence to anyone else? Ping this one to the FCC.

DBP is legit. I found out about them last week. I had submitted my resume to a few online sites, and I got a message saying "apply on our website!" Well I couldn't find this company in any BBB or Hoover's records, even though they list a street address on their home page. So I whois'd them, and saw DBP.

They do sell a valid service, because a lot of people don't have a corporate address or P.O. box, and posting private information in a public database is a security hazard.

I suspect that DBP shields quite a few scammers however. They only turn over their records if required by subpoena. This hurdle to law enforcement has no doubt saved many criminals from prosecution. Interestingly, they demand payment for subpoena compliance:

Domains by Proxy 's subpoena compliance costs are as follows:
* Research - $75.00/hour
* Federal Express - Cost as Billed
* Copies - $.25/page

Interestingly enough, DBP has been sued at least once. I found the following court document:

Here (http://www.ctd.uscourts.gov/Opinions/071304.SRU.Pfizer.pdf)

Mechcozmo
Jun 17, 2005, 10:03 PM
Lookit the Google ads this page has made...

(GoDaddy one. I'm too lazy to take a picture for all eternity though. :D)

GrannySmith_G5
Jun 18, 2005, 07:14 AM
I go to fetchflix to get my Fletch fix.

ReanimationLP
Jun 18, 2005, 08:09 AM
I still think the ads for the Powermac G6 and Powerbook G5 are the best. :P

dotdotdot
Jun 18, 2005, 08:26 AM
Lookit the Google ads this page has made...

(GoDaddy one. I'm too lazy to take a picture for all eternity though. :D)

I'm starting to feel bad that I can't see ads on any website. Now, I can't talk in this chat!

question fear
Jun 18, 2005, 10:05 AM
those ads are terrible, they apparently (and not suprisingly) confuse people who don't know much about the internet.
I got a call yesterday at work from someone who wanted a dvd that didn't exist...she was puzzled, because when she'd searched for it she'd seen an ad that offered to let her download the tv-movie in question for free...i explained to her how that was most likely a scam if not an illegal download offer, and strongly discouraged her from using it. but it was kind of mind blowing, because it is easy to forget how little most people know or care about file sharing, etc.

Spock
Jun 19, 2005, 11:21 PM
The only way i would get Star Wars three is if I get get it on DVD like tuesday and then I would sell it. I would never download it.

the_mole1314
Jun 19, 2005, 11:27 PM
I'm looking at the ones ontop now, one is totally illegal, two are "Free ___!", and one is for iBooks.