PDA

View Full Version : CopyMemory in Xcode

Shalako
Feb 19, 2012, 07:35 AM
Hello,

I am new to Xcode and Objective C. I normally use RealStudio but I need to covert some C++ into Objective C so I can compile a dylib for a poker program project. So far I have converted everything over ok except a few lines containing this CopyMemory function:

CopyMemory (m_ucTotalSuit, m_ucBoardSuit, 4);

I believe this is a windows API of some sort. Does anybody know what the equivalent would be in Xcode/Obj C? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

subsonix
Feb 19, 2012, 07:39 AM
It looks like memcpy(), which is a standard C function available everywhere. This suggests perhaps that it's not quite like memcpy()? If the line you have there copies 4 bytes from m_ucBoardSuit to m_ucTotalSuit, then it is. But it can differ in other ways like error handling and so on?

Edit: just found out (from Google) that CopyMemory is nothing but a macro for memcpy(), stupid Microsoft. So you could probably try this:

#define CopyMemory(Destination,Source,Length) memcpy((Destination),(Source),(Length))

pmau
Feb 19, 2012, 07:41 AM
Hello,

I am new to Xcode and Objective C. I normally use RealStudio but I need to covert some C++ into Objective C so I can compile a dylib for a poker program project. So far I have converted everything over ok except a few lines containing this CopyMemory function:

CopyMemory (m_ucTotalSuit, m_ucBoardSuit, 4);

I believe this is a windows API of some sort. Does anybody know what the equivalent would be in Xcode/Obj C? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Without knowing what m_ucTotalSuit and m_ucBoardSuit really are, in Objective C there's

memcpy()

BUT: This simply copies memory regions, it does not deal with reference counting or anything. It purely copies bztes from one location to another.

It has no meaning in the lifecycle of your objects. So if these variables above are indeed objects you probably want to "clone" them.