PDA

View Full Version : Resize to retina




cclloyd
Feb 22, 2012, 12:20 PM
So does anyone know a simple way to convert near any image into Retina using Photoshop CS5? It seems like there should be some way to do it rather than redraw all images I need to be retina.



simsaladimbamba
Feb 22, 2012, 12:22 PM
Wouldn't free transforming (CMD+T) the scalable vector objects using the scale tool in the toolbar work for that?

cclloyd
Feb 22, 2012, 12:32 PM
1. I'm on Windows for Photoshop, just as an fyi.

2. There are no vector objects in my images; They are just... normal images. An example image would be:
http://forums.macrumors.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=325784&d=1329935521

simsaladimbamba
Feb 22, 2012, 12:34 PM
1. I'm on Windows for Photoshop, just as an fyi.
Then it is CTRL+T.

2. There are no vector objects in my images; They are just... normal images. An example image would be:
Image (http://forums.macrumors.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=325784&d=1329935521)
If it is a pixel based images, you can still use CTRL+T, but expect pixelation.

cclloyd
Feb 22, 2012, 12:37 PM
So there is no way for PS to calculate the pixels to keep it clear when it is pixel based?

simsaladimbamba
Feb 22, 2012, 01:11 PM
So there is no way for PS to calculate the pixels to keep it clear when it is pixel based?

As far as I know, yes, especially if you quadruple the size of that object.

Here is your example: (you have to click on it, due to it being a thumbnail)
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10644330/MR_Image_Hotlinks/MR_screenshots/MR_screenshots_2012_02/2012_02_22_pF1_Quadrupling.png

radug
Feb 22, 2012, 01:19 PM
better than ctrl+t is to go to Image - Image Size - double the size and choose the appropriate resampling method.

Osnabrueck
Feb 22, 2012, 02:16 PM
So there is no way for PS to calculate the pixels to keep it clear when it is pixel based?

No.

What you're asking for is the graphic design equivalent of the philosophers stone.