Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

28Fiend

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 29, 2009
I'm basically new to the FX world, picked up a D700 with 800 actuations. Looking to put together a descent gear bag, though I only have enough money left over for one or two lenses depending on the lens. Trying to decide between:

24-70mm
24mm (maybe)
50mm
85mm
Possibly the 17-35mm with a 50mm

I've been reading quite a bit and there are quite a few people that see the 24-70 as good as any prime. Just trying to weigh whether two or three primes would be considered equal with the 24-70? Obviously the 24-70 would be more versitile. Any thoughts, advice, or ideas are greatly appriciated.

peepboon

macrumors 6502
Aug 30, 2008
I use this set-up:

24mm
35mm
50mm
85mm
135mm

35 & 85 are my lenses of choice. I take the 50 with me too but not as much as the 35 & 85 combo.

compuwar

macrumors 601
Oct 5, 2006
Northern/Central VA
I'm basically new to the FX world, picked up a D700 with 800 actuations. Looking to put together a descent gear bag, though I only have enough money left over for one or two lenses depending on the lens. Trying to decide between:

24-70mm
24mm (maybe)
50mm
85mm
Possibly the 17-35mm with a 50mm

I've been reading quite a bit and there are quite a few people that see the 24-70 as good as any prime. Just trying to weigh whether two or three primes would be considered equal with the 24-70? Obviously the 24-70 would be more versitile. Any thoughts, advice, or ideas are greatly appriciated.

I have yet to talk to anyone who's disappointed with the 24-70- the real question is "Is it overkill?" I'm not a fan of the 24mm f/2,8 prime. If you're going faster than 2.8, then it depends on what and when you shoot- if not then personally, I'd go with the 24-70. If you shoot a lot at 24mm, then there's some distortion and CA-- but both are software correctable quite easily.

Paul

28Fiend