PDA

View Full Version : Thunderbolt Display Question?

macdudesir
Mar 2, 2012, 10:16 PM
I have a macbook air and a thunderbolt equipped iMac right now...i would like to purchase a thunderbolt display for my macbook air but when i ran the iMac screen as an external monitor through target display mode to see how i would like it, the scrolling was choppy and it became so annoying that eventually i was just like forget it and unplugged the thunderbolt cable...so my question is, was that just a fluke or was it because it was an iMac and not a thunderbolt display? Do any of you use a thunderbolt display with your macbook air and notice this?

Thanks in advance :)

Longdrive
Mar 2, 2012, 11:01 PM
I have an 2011 13" MBA Ultimate and Thunderbolt display and I can't say that scrolling is perfectly smooth but any lag is hardly noticeable to me. Well worth the convenience of the additional ports i.e., ethernet, etc. Get yourself a BookArc to complete the set-up and you'll love it.

TheRealDamager
Mar 2, 2012, 11:45 PM
I have absolutely no lag on mine. Granted I'm not trying to do anything like gaming, but for my use, I would be hardpressed to notice ANY performance degradation at all.

nohoch
Mar 3, 2012, 12:17 AM
I use main on a weekly basis with Thunerbolt - > HDMI adapter with a 40" LCD and also an Asus 24" monitor and have and no issues with lagging whatsoever.

USES: VLC media Player almost daily with mkv files (40")
Schoolwork almost daily on the 24" monitor

alphaod
Mar 3, 2012, 01:22 AM
It does not have the best GPU to drive this display, but I do not have to interface lag or scrolling issues on a day-to-day basis. I normally just have word processing, coding, or web browsing on this computer. At most I might watch a video or something.

lc25
Mar 3, 2012, 06:30 AM
I watch HD rips on a 46" LCD and don't have any issues, give it another try and make sure you have all the updates.

rogan
Mar 3, 2012, 09:58 AM