PDA

View Full Version : Is this product using the IBM 970?


Falleron
Oct 24, 2002, 05:10 AM
Take a look at this article:

http://news.com.com/2100-1001-963111.html?tag=fd_top

I know it does not state that it uses the new IBM Processor. BUT, it says they are using a new Power 4 type chip. I smell something. I could not see when they were going to release it, but, it may give us a hint as to when Apple could use it (assuming its the same chip).

iShater
Oct 25, 2002, 06:04 PM
Originally posted by Falleron
Take a look at this article:

http://news.com.com/2100-1001-963111.html?tag=fd_top

I know it does not state that it uses the new IBM Processor. BUT, it says they are using a new Power 4 type chip. I smell something. I could not see when they were going to release it, but, it may give us a hint as to when Apple could use it (assuming its the same chip).

I think they specify it is a Power4 chip, so I am guessing the same of what they have out right now.

strider42
Oct 25, 2002, 06:23 PM
Originally posted by iShater


I think they specify it is a Power4 chip, so I am guessing the same of what they have out right now.

yes they do specify its the power4, not the new chip they announced (which isn't in production yet anyway, so its a bit difficult to announce a product that will be using it). they would never refer to the new chip as a power4 cause its not one.