PDA

View Full Version : 2011 13" MBA - Thunderbolt display OK ?

udflyer
Mar 5, 2012, 05:43 PM
I read there is a fan issue with MBA's and new display

Have not seen if that issue is still going on.

Anyone have this set up ?

jjfcpa
Mar 5, 2012, 05:49 PM

I have a 2011 MBA with a Apple LCD and I have had no problems with it. I'm not sure I've heard the fan running on my MBA and it stays nice and cool.

TheRealDamager
Mar 5, 2012, 09:48 PM
No issue here whatsoever.

aleni
Mar 6, 2012, 02:10 AM
anybody with thunderbolt display and 2011 13"mba working with 300dpi images 30cmx50cm with photoshop?

Roman2K~
Mar 6, 2012, 02:46 AM

Current setup: see signature.

Fans do spin up very loud when watching any Flash video in fullscreen (YouTube, for example). CPU usage is normal, but I think the iGPU is working hard.

Everything else runs perfectly smooth, in silence.

mollermanden
Mar 6, 2012, 03:00 AM
What's the chance that we will see a thunderbolt display with built in graphics card do you think?

NutsNGum
Mar 6, 2012, 03:11 AM
What's the chance that we will see a thunderbolt display with built in graphics card do you think?

Zero.

Roman2K~
Mar 6, 2012, 03:16 AM
Zero.

Why? This would seem like the perfect combination: iGPU while on battery, powerful GPU while docked.

Even Anand Shimpi thinks it's likely to happen. He talks about it in his video review (http://www.anandtech.com/show/4832/the-apple-thunderbolt-display-review) of the TBD.

NutsNGum
Mar 6, 2012, 03:24 AM
Why? This would seem like the perfect combination: iGPU while on battery, powerful GPU while docked.

Even Anand Shimpi thinks it's likely to happen. He talks about it in his video review (http://www.anandtech.com/show/4832/the-apple-thunderbolt-display-review) of the TBD.