PDA

View Full Version : Quick question on ternary operations

dreilly1982
Mar 6, 2012, 09:55 AM
Just a quick question, on standard style. When is it OK to use a ternary operation as opposed to an if/else?

if (a>b){
do this
}
else{
do that
}

VS

(a>b) ? do this : do that

Is it just a matter of preference or are there rules for when you use one over the other? I am just learning, and nothing I've read spells anything out.

robvas
Mar 6, 2012, 10:30 AM
Preference for readability.

ScoobyMcDoo
Mar 6, 2012, 10:58 AM
I typically only use the ternary form for simple assignments.

EG: absval = (a < 0) ? a * -1.0 : a;

GorillaPaws
Mar 6, 2012, 12:26 PM
Many people (and employers) avoid the ternary operator. I hate it personally, because it creates lines of code that are too "dense."

I'd much rather sacrifice a bit of scrolling and immediately see a few simple, unambiguous statements that don't require any mental processing cycles to grok, instead of: "ok it's a ternary operator, so the first thing is if it's true (I think) and the second is if it's false...let me double check...google and confirm I'm right, etc." If you decide to use it, I would only use it for the simplest of situations. Files length can go on forever, and screens are big these days, so why not trade a little vertical space for making your code simpler? Caveat: this is ultimately a style decision, so you're going to find people who have very different preferences than I do. I'm dyslexic, so whitespace is my friend; I use it as a tool to help clarify the intent of the code.

My advice is to play around with it and decide if it's a good fit for your style, and what situations it might improve/hinder the readability of your code.

robvas
Mar 6, 2012, 01:05 PM
We have people here that put multiple ones on the same line. I really hate that. It can save alot of lines but then again we all have dual 21 or 27 inch monitors so...