Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Dec 16, 2011
For my graphic design class (I'm a freshman in High School), we had to make a movie poster based off a list of different Shakespeare titles. I chose Titus Andronicus to work with. The image has 3 distinct parts. The first part is far in the background, which is the giant bronze door of St. Peter's Basilica in Rome. Despite being a church, it gave me this council feel, like important city meetings would occur there; an Official [political] house so to call it. Titus Andronicus's main characters are of political importance (or have some form of relations to people of political importance). The second part is the Roman general. Titus was a Roman general coming back from his conquest over the Goths. The final part is the bloodstains. The bloodstains symbolize the revenge in the play, as well TA being Shakespeare's most bloodiest play written. Please, tell me what you think! Please be critical, don't be afraid to tell me what's wrong! :D

(Click it to see it in it's fullest resolution!)

WideView.jpg

GoCubsGo

macrumors Nehalem
Feb 19, 2005
I'm glad you explained this because I felt it was really hard to figure out despite having read the play but more so because the door didn't quite come through to me.

I think that's my criticism, the door is almost too hard to see so it's more of a distraction.

spacedcadet

macrumors regular
Mar 5, 2009
Plausible

Not a bad effort. Agree with previous poster that the door isn't really visible.
You might want to think about moving the title to the top where you have plenty of black space. Currently it's fighting against the busy image behind it at the bottom. At the top the title will also have more power as it will become the most important part of the composition.

YESimBLUNTED

macrumors member
I agree with the above posts as well.