Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

trucmuche2005

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 8, 2012
Belgium
Hello everybody !

I'm new to mac : I bought my first MBP some days ago, but I don't regret it :)
English is not my native language so I'll certainly make many errors. Please forgive me, I try to do my best :)
Oh and by the way, I'm using Lion in french so I don't know the exact english words... I hope that you'll understand what I say...

In the Finder window, I created a shortcut to a folder in the favorite section of the left sidebar. But I would like to rename it. How can I do that WITHOUT renaming the folder itself ?

The reason of my question is simple... I have a folder named "2012" in many different folders (one folder per "client") and I would like to put in the finder the shortcut to different "2012" folders, which have the same name BUT not the same parent directory... And I don't want to have five "2012" identical shortcuts in the Finder...

Could you help me ?

Many thanks in advance !

Trucmuche2005

Nov 28, 2010
located
In the Finder window, I created a shortcut to a folder in the favorite section of the left sidebar. But I would like to rename it. How can I do that WITHOUT renaming the folder itself ?

Not possible.
But you could create an alias of one 2012 folder, rename it to whatever you like, store it wherever you like, and put that alias in the Sidebar.

In Mac OS X, what is an alias and how does it work?

edit.gif

Or not. I just tested it and as soon as I dragged the renamed alias into the Sidebar the Sidebar item got renamed to the original.
Seems you have to rename those 2012 folders itself.
I use 10.6.8 though.

edit.gif
edit.gif

Just tested it in 10.7.3, it doesn't work there either.

trucmuche2005

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 8, 2012
Belgium
Waouw ! I didn't expect so rapid answers :) Thank you very much guys ! :)