PDA

View Full Version : Processor Change...?




SRLMJ23
Mar 8, 2012, 08:38 PM
I was wondering something: Since my MacBook Air has an Intel Core 2 Duo chip in it, couldn't I technically upgrade the chip to a Core 2 Quad? There is one Core 2 Quad that runs on a LGA 775 platform which I'm assuming (have to do a little more digging) is what my processor is based on.

On the other hand I am kind of scared to open up my Mac and mess around with the CPU because I just got it at Christmas and if I ruined I would kill myself!

What do you all think?



KylePowers
Mar 8, 2012, 09:42 PM
CPU is soldered, not socketed. Can't replace it

http://guide-images.ifixit.net/igi/POxSYUGpXHwopXCQ.medium
http://guide-images.ifixit.net/igi/4uUMRIPytboUt2Ti.medium
CPU is in red

anirudh
Mar 8, 2012, 09:45 PM
you have a 2011 MBA with a C2D processor :confused:

And no, the processor is not replaceable.

upsguy27
Mar 9, 2012, 09:33 AM
The only sort of CPU "replacement" you could do would be putting a logic board from a newer/higher specced Air, such as the mid-2011 logic board.

I might be wrong about this; I'm not sure if Apple changed the size of the board from 2010 to 2011.

Acorn
Mar 9, 2012, 09:43 AM
you sure its not the orange. it looks like the orange is the cpu to me. the reason i think that is because the die is bigger for the included intel hd graphics built into the same chip.

KylePowers
Mar 9, 2012, 11:05 AM
He has a 2010. The orange is the Nvidia GPU

SRLMJ23
Mar 10, 2012, 02:28 PM
Yeah I have a Late 2010, i put the wrong date in my signature (gotta change that). So yeah late 2010.