PDA

View Full Version : Why does Lion app in App Store say "Install" on my MBA 2011?




onthecouchagain
Mar 8, 2012, 10:18 PM
Don't I already have Lion preinstalled? Everything is up to date. What gives?



Spink10
Mar 8, 2012, 10:22 PM
Don't I already have Lion preinstalled? Everything is up to date. What gives?

Your fine - I have same thing.

KylePowers
Mar 8, 2012, 10:41 PM
Because you didn't install Lion from the App Store.

I wish it'd fix this. Along with other apps that come standard too.

nobackup
Mar 9, 2012, 12:19 AM
Don't I already have Lion preinstalled? Everything is up to date. What gives?


Can happen when you are not running the latest version i.e.

you are running 10.7.2 the app store has 10.7.3 so :apple: offers you to install it ...

we need to get used to this as its how we will see updates in ML :)

(If I download LN from the appstore it states also the 22 July 2011 but installs 10.7.3 as of today no need to install additional updates !!... this is the same from my 2011 Air, 2010 Pro, and 2011 Mini.... before some one picks up on the date :) )

onthecouchagain
Mar 9, 2012, 01:14 AM
What happens when you click Install? ...

AlexH
Mar 9, 2012, 01:17 AM
What happens when you click Install? ...
Probably just installs over your current installation. Maybe it would detect you're already running Lion, idk. Only one way to find out! :D

antonis
Mar 9, 2012, 01:38 AM
It does the same for me with Xcode. Can't be bothered to press install, though, if there's the possibility to download 3gb again.

Tazdaman
Mar 9, 2012, 06:06 AM
I pressed install and Lion started to download again! I paused it but there is no way to Cancel it. Any ideas?

onthecouchagain
Mar 9, 2012, 03:10 PM
I'm scared.