PDA

View Full Version : IPad2 or new IPad for ios developer?

anonymouse99
Mar 11, 2012, 03:49 PM
I've bought a brand new 16GB "wifi only" IPad2 for $360 and have a few more days before my return period runs out. What IPad do you folks use for writing IOS apps?

I'm thinking that a higher res display while nice to have, may not be that significant for writing non-gaming apps.

Is it important to get one with GPS hardware, so should I be buying one with 4G? Cost, while important, is not a major issue at this point.

Thoughts?

-TIA

NutsNGum
Mar 11, 2012, 03:51 PM
If you're a developer you would do well to have both.

Sonisk
Mar 11, 2012, 03:53 PM
I'm a developer myself, and sold my iPad 2 to get the new one. As a developer, I wanna be on the edge with what we can do, and not do. The earlier we dig into this, the faster we can release great apps designed for the new iPad. And since they're gonna keep this resolution they just introduced for a while, one might aswell start designing for the new resolution.

That's my thoughts anyways. :)

Jason S.
Mar 11, 2012, 03:54 PM
If you're a developer you would do well to have both.

This.

But if you can only get one right now, get the new one.

Even if you were not making games, you would want to test your apps on the new display, because any app you make from this point forward should contain high resolution graphics. And any new iPad from this point forward will also have a high-res display.

whtrbt7
Mar 11, 2012, 03:56 PM
Devs should have all 3 versions. Especially if you're guaranteeing backwards compatibility. It's just a part of the cost of business.

anonymouse99
Mar 11, 2012, 04:02 PM
This.

But if you can only get one right now, get the new one.