PDA

View Full Version : 1080p Airplay (edit it works)




eagandale4114
Mar 18, 2012, 06:23 PM
Can someone with ML and an ATV3 check if 1080p airplay streaming works?

EDIT 1:
For those of you just joining us a second generation i7 core processor + an ATV gen 3 + mountain lion DP3 = 1080p airplay
(Credit: simen02)

Edit 2:
There might be a restriction preventing systems with dual core i7 chips (i.e. MBA) from outputting 1080p via airplay.
Credit: bogatyr



sanke1
Mar 18, 2012, 08:24 PM
Get a mini display port to HDMI cable and watch it on your big screen through your mac

JohnDoe98
Mar 18, 2012, 10:32 PM
Can someone with ML and an ATV3 check if 1080p airplay streaming works?

Good question. I would like to know this too, but my old MBP can't do airplay mirroring. I wouldn't upgrade my MBP if it can't do 1080p airplay mirroring.

----------

Get a mini display port to HDMI cable and watch it on your big screen through your mac

What is the point of posting this nonsense in this thread?

GubbyMan
Mar 19, 2012, 01:36 AM
Can someone with ML and an ATV3 check if 1080p airplay streaming works?

I've been asking this question for days now. It's not even hard to tell if it's 1080p or 720p for those who have both a ML Mac and ATV3. As far as I know, they can just change the resolution to Apple TV's resolution and they'll discover if it is 1080p or not. :apple:



Get a mini display port to HDMI cable and watch it on your big screen through your mac

Having a HDMI cable to the TV is soooo 2011, AirPlay is the future.:D

vladi
Mar 20, 2012, 02:52 AM
I've been asking this question for days now. It's not even hard to tell if it's 1080p or 720p for those who have both a ML Mac and ATV3. As far as I know, they can just change the resolution to Apple TV's resolution and they'll discover if it is 1080p or not. :apple:





Having a HDMI cable to the TV is soooo 2011, AirPlay is the future.:D

AirPlay has been on the scene since 2010 but limited only to Windows. And it streamed 1080p since day one (or two I am not sure but it was in 2010).

Of course I am talking about WiDi which is an awesome, awesome thing. What put people off was the adapter they had to buy and hook up to television so it never gained traction but screen mirroring works like a charm. I am using it on my VAIO everyday. Intel just made a mistake for not forcing TV manufacturers to integrated them into their products.

DLNA also works for me in 1080p as well, never had a problem with WMP and Sony HX929 but since I have WiDi i really don't use it that much.

Now to all AppleTV people I want you to check out WD TV Live Hub it works wonders on Macs and I think its so much better than AppleTV. Playback codec support is unparalleled.

bjett92
Mar 20, 2012, 03:12 AM
AirPlay has been on the scene since 2010 but limited only to Windows. And it streamed 1080p since day one (or two I am not sure but it was in 2010).

Of course I am talking about WiDi which is an awesome, awesome thing. What put people off was the adapter they had to buy and hook up to television so it never gained traction but screen mirroring works like a charm. I am using it on my VAIO everyday. Intel just made a mistake for not forcing TV manufacturers to integrated them into their products.

DLNA also works for me in 1080p as well, never had a problem with WMP and Sony HX929 but since I have WiDi i really don't use it that much.

Now to all AppleTV people I want you to check out WD TV Live Hub it works wonders on Macs and I think its so much better than AppleTV. Playback codec support is unparalleled.

How helpful you have been...

fattire357
Mar 20, 2012, 08:18 PM
What an epic fail of a thread. I'm actually interested in the question asked, whether or not airplay works at 1080p.

dborod
Mar 20, 2012, 09:19 PM
What an epic fail of a thread. I'm actually interested in the question asked, whether or not airplay works at 1080p.

Me too. I'm looking to buy a 60" screen for our meeting room and am wondering about using an ATV and my laptop instead of a dedicated Mac mini.

eagandale4114
Mar 21, 2012, 07:34 PM
Any help?

JohnDoe98
Mar 22, 2012, 09:36 PM
Bump. Still no one to test this? Maybe I should go buy a new mbp, test it, then return it (kidding).

fsfh60
Mar 23, 2012, 10:50 PM
Hey guys,


Its my first time posting on this forum so bare with me.Answer to the question above. I have the late 2010 Macbook Pro I7 2.66 GHz and a apple tv 3g. Airplay Mirroring is not showing up in the display preferences, Although I can stream my 1080p movies through itunes. I hope that answers your question

eagandale4114
Mar 24, 2012, 09:49 AM
Hey guys,


Its my first time posting on this forum so bare with me.Answer to the question above. I have the late 2010 Macbook Pro I7 2.66 GHz and a apple tv 3g. Airplay Mirroring is not showing up in the display preferences, Although I can stream my 1080p movies through itunes. I hope that answers your question

That is home sharing not airplay mirroring. They are two different things. You would probably need a second gen i7 i.e. a 2011 sandy bridge mac for mirroring to work. Thanks for trying though. :)

simen02
Mar 24, 2012, 12:46 PM
I have 2011 imac and appletv3. If you set mirroring to match appletv3 the resolution drops to 720p on the iMac :(

Lets hope they fix this in next beta version of mountain lion

GubbyMan
Mar 24, 2012, 01:01 PM
I have 2011 imac and appletv3. If you set mirroring to match appletv3 the resolution drops to 720p on the iMac :(

Lets hope they fix this in next beta version of mountain lion

Noooooooooooooooooooo :eek::eek::eek:

Thanks for the reply. Btw, there should be a setting to have the screen resolution stay the same while you mirror a smaller resolution to the TV. I think...

Can you try it again if you can get it working with the full resolution on your iMac? Maybe there's still some hope left. :o

JohnDoe98
Mar 24, 2012, 01:34 PM
I have 2011 imac and appletv3. If you set mirroring to match appletv3 the resolution drops to 720p on the iMac :(

Lets hope they fix this in next beta version of mountain lion

We need more details. Dual core or quad core. i3, i5, or i7? Let's narrow things down a bit.

simen02
Mar 24, 2012, 02:33 PM
sorry if I let airplay (appletv 3) deside screen size the imac falls to 720p. the TV i use is samsung led 2011 model 55''. appletv is set to 1080p. The Imac is middle 2011(bought just 1 month ago) i5 2.5Ghz 12 gb ram with AMD Radeon HD 6750M

lifeinhd
Mar 24, 2012, 03:15 PM
sorry if I let airplay (appletv 3) deside screen size the imac falls to 720p. the TV i use is samsung led 2011 model 55''. appletv is set to 1080p. The Imac is middle 2011(bought just 1 month ago) i5 2.5Ghz 12 gb ram with AMD Radeon HD 6750M

Are the iMac and TV connected to the network wired or wirelessly? And what is the speed of the connection?

innominato5090
Mar 24, 2012, 04:21 PM
since the iPad 3 + apple tv 3 combo is limited to 720p, I'm not surprised by that :(

simen02
Mar 24, 2012, 06:58 PM
the appletv is wired and the Imac is wired with cat6

JohnDoe98
Mar 24, 2012, 08:53 PM
sorry if I let airplay (appletv 3) deside screen size the imac falls to 720p. the TV i use is samsung led 2011 model 55''. appletv is set to 1080p. The Imac is middle 2011(bought just 1 month ago) i5 2.5Ghz 12 gb ram with AMD Radeon HD 6750M

Thx for checking on this!

lifeinhd
Mar 25, 2012, 12:03 AM
since the iPad 3 + apple tv 3 combo is limited to 720p, I'm not surprised by that :(

Well, not quite. Screen mirroring is limited to 720p, but video playback is 1080p. I guess it's a limitation of the TV-- with a video, it knows what to buffer and can therefore buffer the extra data without issue, but it can't buffer a screen mirror (there's no way of knowing what the user will do next, and buffering extra data for every possible user interaction just isn't feasible; it's easier just to stream. And network bandwidth in most cases isn't sufficient to stream 1080p smoothly, only 720p). That's too bad.

innominato5090
Mar 25, 2012, 08:19 AM
Well, not quite. Screen mirroring is limited to 720p, but video playback is 1080p. I guess it's a limitation of the TV-- with a video, it knows what to buffer and can therefore buffer the extra data without issue, but it can't buffer a screen mirror (there's no way of knowing what the user will do next, and buffering extra data for every possible user interaction just isn't feasible; it's easier just to stream. And network bandwidth in most cases isn't sufficient to stream 1080p smoothly, only 720p). That's too bad.

yeah that was basically my point... sorry for not explaining it in details. :D
also I think apple is playing "safe" here: even if there are some networs configurations that could technically support fluid 1080p streaming, the cut the feature off to avoid complains from users :)

simen02
Apr 20, 2012, 01:45 PM
Hello!

I can know give you new information in DP3 you can stream 1080P to the appletv 3. It works fine, and the screen on my imac 21.5 " stays on 1080p even if i left appletv 3 decide the resolution.:)

JohnDoe98
Apr 20, 2012, 04:18 PM
Hello!

I can know give you new information in DP3 you can stream 1080P to the appletv 3. It works fine, and the screen on my imac 21.5 " stays on 1080p even if i left appletv 3 decide the resolution.:)

Great news! Thanks for reporting it.

Richdmoore
Apr 20, 2012, 05:40 PM
Hello!

I can know give you new information in DP3 you can stream 1080P to the appletv 3. It works fine, and the screen on my imac 21.5 " stays on 1080p even if i left appletv 3 decide the resolution.:)

Thanks as well. It might be worth my time to pick up an Apple TV if I can eliminate the thunderbolt to HDMI part when I want to watch hulu desktop.

eagandale4114
Apr 22, 2012, 12:08 PM
Hello!

I can know give you new information in DP3 you can stream 1080P to the appletv 3. It works fine, and the screen on my imac 21.5 " stays on 1080p even if i left appletv 3 decide the resolution.:)

Thanks.
You just sold me an atv 3.
Now for ml.

EDIT:
To be more clear ML has already sold itself to me. Its just not out yet.

lifeinhd
Apr 22, 2012, 11:27 PM
thanks.
You just sold me an atv 3.
Now for ml.

+1

bogatyr
May 5, 2012, 10:56 AM
EDIT 1:
For those of you just joining us a second generation i7 core processor + an ATV gen 3 + mountain lion DP3 = 1080p airplay
Not on a MBA i7, just tried it with DP3. Most it would do is an odd width by 720 (not actual 720p). Which displayed oddly on my Panasonic TV.

Would be nice if they offered an option to just display on the TV at 1080p.

eagandale4114
May 5, 2012, 08:17 PM
Not on a MBA i7, just tried it with DP3. Most it would do is an odd width by 720 (not actual 720p). Which displayed oddly on my Panasonic TV.

Would be nice if they offered an option to just display on the TV at 1080p.

Could there be a restriction on dual core i series chips?

Jamie0003
May 6, 2012, 12:46 PM
Anyone on the latest beta, can you do extended desktop mode or just mirroring? :confused:

chevalier433
May 6, 2012, 01:04 PM
Working with iMac mid-2010 i7 Core?

cmChimera
May 6, 2012, 02:20 PM
Anyone on the latest beta, can you do extended desktop mode or just mirroring? :confused:

Follow up question to this, could I just make Vlc do airplay and then surf the web on my mac? Or do I have to do mirroring?

simen02
May 6, 2012, 02:55 PM
Follow up question to this, could I just make Vlc do airplay and then surf the web on my mac? Or do I have to do mirroring?

just mirroring, but airparrot will work for you.

cmChimera
May 6, 2012, 03:04 PM
just mirroring, but airparrot will work for you.

I just went to airparrot's site and all I see is mirroring. Is there something I'm missing?

Appel
May 6, 2012, 03:20 PM
Does your TV also show the mirrored Mac with black boarders on the left and right of the picture? I cant seem to make the picture cover the entire screen. No matter what aspect ratio or over scan settings i try.

When using the media player plugin to airplay HTML5 videos from the mac to ATV2 it covers the screen perfectly.

Do you think they will fix this for the official release?

bogatyr
May 7, 2012, 07:15 AM
Does your TV also show the mirrored Mac with black boarders on the left and right of the picture? I cant seem to make the picture cover the entire screen. No matter what aspect ratio or over scan settings i try.

When using the media player plugin to airplay HTML5 videos from the mac to ATV2 it covers the screen perfectly.

Do you think they will fix this for the official release?

My TV had a mode to fix it. I had borders around the top and bottom too though.

chevalier433
May 7, 2012, 08:28 AM
[QUOTE=chevalier433;14825978]Working with iMac mid-2010 i7 Core?[/QUOTE

Anyone knows?

simen02
May 13, 2012, 12:06 PM
I just went to airparrot's site and all I see is mirroring. Is there something I'm missing?

just download the airparrot , you can use it for free in 20 min. In Airparrot control panel you can use mirroring or extended.

cmChimera
May 13, 2012, 01:32 PM
just download the airparrot , you can use it for free in 20 min. In Airparrot control panel you can use mirroring or extended.

You just sold me an Apple tv.