PDA

View Full Version : which C is best to learn

roadgypsy
Mar 25, 2012, 05:44 PM
Hi all
I'm new to programming, although I have developed in Omnis and learning Studio (and way back dabbled in BASIC). What I would like to know, is which C version is the best to start with in order to learn Mac programming: C, C++ or objective C. I want to pick up one of the C books, but when I start looking its confusing a hell. Can anyone point me in the right (and easiest) direction. I'm good with manuals and have no problem with taking the time to learn since I now have a lot of it.

TIA

Catfish_Man
Mar 25, 2012, 06:00 PM
Hi all
I'm new to programming, although I have developed in Omnis and learning Studio (and way back dabbled in BASIC). What I would like to know, is which C version is the best to start with in order to learn Mac programming: C, C++ or objective C. I want to pick up one of the C books, but when I start looking its confusing a hell. Can anyone point me in the right (and easiest) direction. I'm good with manuals and have no problem with taking the time to learn since I now have a lot of it.

TIA

Objective-C is pretty much required for Mac development. I believe there's a sticky at the top of this forum about learning it, but generally speaking the recommendation is to get Steve Kochan's book on ObjC, and Aaron Hillegass's book on Cocoa.

robvas
Mar 25, 2012, 07:44 PM
Objective-C is pretty much required for Mac development. I believe there's a sticky at the top of this forum about learning it, but generally speaking the recommendation is to get Steve Kochan's book on ObjC, and Aaron Hillegass's book on Cocoa.

Here are the two books Catfish_Man mentioned:

http://i.imgur.com/rsQqT.jpg http://i.imgur.com/BdgJ4.jpg

You might also want to check out:

http://i.imgur.com/ln5Te.jpg http://i.imgur.com/s9sb0.jpg http://i.imgur.com/kzvFJ.jpg

roadgypsy
Mar 25, 2012, 08:36 PM