PDA

View Full Version : How do I connect my speakers to G5?




mintlivedotcom
Jun 28, 2005, 03:52 PM
I have powered monitors with 1/4" INS. What do I need and where do I plug in?



WinterMute
Jun 28, 2005, 04:08 PM
I have powered monitors with 1/4" outs. What do I need and where do I plug in?

You mean 1/4" INPUTS surely?

You need a 1/8" stereo mini-jack to twin mono 1/4" jacks (or to red and white phono plugs and a couple of adapters).

Radioshack.

Plug into the line out on the back of the G5, the front socket is for headphones, which will work, but won't sound as good.

mintlivedotcom
Jun 28, 2005, 04:16 PM
Yes, I meant INS! Ok, that solves the speaker issue.

Now, I want to record synths into Logic. I have a small mixer:

http://www.behringer.com/MX802A/index.cfm?lang=eng

How do I connect that to my G5?

WinterMute
Jun 28, 2005, 04:20 PM
Yes, I meant INS! Ok, that solves the speaker issue.

Now, I want to record synths into Logic. I have a small mixer:

http://www.behringer.com/MX802A/index.cfm?lang=eng

How do I connect that to my G5?

Get two of those cables.

Connect the output from your mixer to the line in on the back of your G5, select "line-in" in the audio preferences and it should show up in Logic as a signal.

I've moved this to the Digital Audio forum, you'll get more answers there.

mintlivedotcom
Jun 28, 2005, 04:39 PM
Thanks! I am off to Radio Shack now.

BTW, my recent computer is a dual G4 and I had a Delta 66 sound card and everything was fine and dandy. However, the card doesn't fit in the new slots on the G5, so M-Audio offers a replacement for $55. So, is there a sound quality difference?

All I want to do is listen to iTunes and occasionaly record analog synths into Logic.