PDA

View Full Version : Using the iPad as an art and animation portfolio - Advice?

MissKokamon
Mar 28, 2012, 01:53 AM
Hello, all!
I'm new to the forum, and even newer to the world of iPads, so forgive my... uh... newness. My iPad is on its way, so I don't have it in hand, but I have big plans in store.
The biggest one is to use it as an art portfolio. I work in the Flash Games business, so I have a lot of game assets I'd like to show off. This isn't too hard... save them as jpegs! Done! That can be applied to pretty much all my digital artwork, so I'm not worried about that.
What I'm stuck on is how to showcase my animations.
They aren't exactly .mov material because they are a simple action, often less than one second. I can loop them for ten seconds or so, but then potential employers would have to go through the hassle of closing the file and opening the next. I could have all my animations in one .mov file, but that would eliminate the point--I want to present my work in a portfolio style, not as a demo reel.
.swf files won't work because they're flash, right? And I hear (though I don't know if this is the case) that animated GIFs don't work in the iPad's image viewer. (Is this still the case for the new iPad? Was it EVER the case?)
I did consider putting them on a website, but if the connection is poor or non-existent, animated gifs on websites can run slowly. I'd prefer a way to show my animations as easily as possible... would any of you know of a method? An app? A setting?
Thanks for your suggestions, folks. I really appreciate it!

laurenr
Mar 28, 2012, 04:39 PM
I know nothing about creating animated Gifs, but I just read this article a few days ago, and happened to save it for a friend; it might be what you're looking for. It concerns the relevant apps for the IOS. Quote: