Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

crazydreaming

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
After a few threads I started regarding a Powerbook for College in the fall, I'm leaning towards a new 12" Powerbook. Thanks for the help, but my mind isn't totally made up yet...

I always thought the Superdrive option wasn't worth it. But, since I'm a student, I noticed that for $100 more, I can get the model with Superdrive, and a 80GB HD. I probably would use the added HD space. My 30GB HD is waay too small, and I don't want to make that mistake again... And, $100 isn't a bad deal either for adding DVD burning, is it? If I went with say an external Lacie drive, it's still going to cost around $100 for a DVD burner. Just trying to decide if there's a better way to spend $108 (w/tax). Thanks

student_trap

macrumors 68000
Mar 14, 2005
'Ol Smokey, UK
get the superdrive, its so useful for backing up files, much better than using CD-R's. Plus, remember that the 60GB hard drive on the combo machine, after OSX and some apps are on it (and that the actual useable amount will be smaller than stated), will prob only leave you with 45-50Gigs for files.

michaelrjohnson

macrumors 68020
Aug 9, 2000
student_trap said:
get the superdrive, its so useful for backing up files...
Backups are very important. I owned a 12in Rev C PowerBook with a ComboDrive. I never would needed a SuperDrive for *anything*(couldn't justify the cost). But if I didn't have my external HD, I would have *sorely* needed the SuperDrive for backing up files. I strongly reccomend a backup solution, but I (would have) never needed the SuperDrive for anything other than that.

Artful Dodger

macrumors 68020