PDA

View Full Version : Getting flashing ? After installing Leopard 10.5.6 on new drive in G5




Tekcon76
Apr 3, 2012, 09:05 PM
So I got a new SATA 1tb 7200 and decided to use it in my G5 (powerPC dual2.0ghz 3.25G Ram). So I installed the drive in bay A and booted to the leopard disk. I was able to partition the dive and installed OSX. Once the computer rebooted after the install I get a flashing ?. I'm beginning to wonder about a bios or something that needs to be told the new drive is the bootable drive. I pulled the old drive out. FYI if I put the old drive back in, it works fine. I put the new drive in I get the flashing question mark. Any ideas?
Thanks



Nameci
Apr 3, 2012, 09:29 PM
How did you partition the drive? Is it an APM? GUID or MBR?

If on a PPC partition should be APM for it to be bootable.

Tekcon76
Apr 4, 2012, 09:13 AM
How did you partition the drive? Is it an APM? GUID or MBR?

If on a PPC partition should be APM for it to be bootable.

Not sure what the acronyms mean but in the utility it only gave me extended Mac partition journaled and non journaled as the options. Do I need to go somewhere else to make it APM?

jbarley
Apr 4, 2012, 09:28 AM
Not sure what the acronyms mean but in the utility it only gave me extended Mac partition journaled and non journaled as the options. Do I need to go somewhere else to make it APM?
Should be a button called 'Options' near the bottom of the Disk Utility 'Partition' page.

Tekcon76
Apr 4, 2012, 06:52 PM
Ya I chose it and still getting flashing question mark... Any other ideas?

T5BRICK
Apr 4, 2012, 08:33 PM
Ya I chose it and still getting flashing question mark... Any other ideas?

http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1440?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US

tayloralmond
Apr 4, 2012, 10:50 PM
Is the drive backward compatible to SATA I? What's the specific hard drive you're using?

GermanyChris
Apr 5, 2012, 12:15 AM
hold option while you boot and see if the HDD is there..if not move it to the lower drive bay..try rebooting and see if it sees it in that bay..

Being this it a minimum of a 7yo computer make sure all you SATA cables are connected, and i don't mean just look actually push them back on the port.