Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

rogersmj

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Sep 10, 2006
Indianapolis, IN
Hi everyone...I'm going on a trip to South Africa at the end of August and need help determining what additional gear I might want to acquire before I go. We'll be going to Cape Town (for wine and culture), Hermanus for whale watching and shark cage diving, and then Kruger for safari.

I'm a hobbyist, not a pro, and this trip is really a vacation for my wife and I. I want to maximize my opportunities for great shots without hauling around more than one medium-size backpack full of camera gear.

Currently, relevant gear I have:
- Nikon D90
- Nikon 18-200mm f3.5-5.6
- Nikon 50mm f1.8
- Decent ball head tripod with quick release plate
- Nikon SB-600 flash
- A variety of 4GB SDHC cards
- Cleaning kit (air blower, microfiber clothes, lens cleaner)

Concerns with this setup:
- Reach. 200mm isn't all that much sometimes when photographing wildlife.
- Low light performance. Obviously my do-it-all zoom isn't a fast lens, and the D90 isn't the best thing these days in low light.
- Only one body? Never had two bodies, but I'd hate to be switching lenses while trying to capture a lion or something.

I'm considering a few things. Let's pretend I'm willing to spend up to $2000 if I must.

1. Should I sell the D90 and purchase a D7000 (net cost: ~$500-600)? I like that it seems to have better low-light performance and has U1/U2 instant recall modes for quick flip between my settings. Also like that it has two card slots for instant backup. I also believe it is more weather-resistant than my D90.