PDA

View Full Version : Retina Updates: What's Taking So Long?

mr.wiggles
Apr 6, 2012, 03:44 PM
The notion that a new iPad with a retina display was immanent back in March was no huge mystery. I just wonder what's taking so long for app developers to update their apps to include retina graphics. Is it a huge, huge undertaking? I have no programming background so I don't know.

I'm specifically talking about the Springpad app, which looks so atrocious on this new iPad that I don't even open it anymore and am trying my hand at Evernote.

Maybe a thread that lists those great apps that people use that appear to have have missed the fact that this new iPad exists would be in order?

spiderman0616
Apr 6, 2012, 03:50 PM
Um......patience?

Ashwood11
Apr 6, 2012, 03:55 PM
App developers will do it when they are good and ready. There is no one answer that would be accurate for everyone.

mr.wiggles
Apr 6, 2012, 04:12 PM
Um......patience?

Huh? It was just a question... Your response does remind me of something else, however...

I hate eBay sometimes. Sellers lie all the time.

A guy I work with and I both ordered 3rd gen iPad back snap on cases early from a guy on ebay so that we could have them before getting our new iPads on launch day. He marked both orders shipped but never shipped them. Then we both e mailed him and he said he didn't even have them at all. A week later we both got our cases and they didn't even come close to fitting on the new model. He did refund our money and gave us the cases for free, but in the end it was a big hassle.

Um......patience?

davedvdy
Apr 6, 2012, 06:29 PM
I feel your pain. What's more is Im wondering which apps and games arent going to get the updates ever.

Orbital HD please update for retina! Lol

Comeagain?
Apr 6, 2012, 06:34 PM
Some apps are as simple as adding x2 artwork, which shouldn't be *too* hard, but others might require a complete re-write of the app itself.

palpatine
Apr 6, 2012, 06:48 PM