PDA

View Full Version : iMac G3 127GB disk limit




parish
Apr 9, 2012, 06:10 AM
I read somewhere that G3 iMacs have a 127GB disk limit (it said disk, not volume).

My G3 was running Jaguar and when I connected my Firewire disk the main volume (490GB) didn't show up, just the two smaller volumes, which I expected.

Now I've done a clean install of Tiger and not only does the main volume now mount, I can browse it, open files on it, and Finder reports the correct size and free space.

So does this mean that the 127GB limit is (was) an OS limit so I could replace the very noisy 10GB HDD with one >127GB?



pistooli
Apr 9, 2012, 06:35 AM
You can even use the 500GB drive. Just partition it to four 125GB parts. :D

parish
Apr 9, 2012, 08:00 AM
You can even use the 500GB drive. Just partition it to four 125GB parts. :D

It's a boot limit then, i.e. it can't boot from a volume >127GB

92WardSenatorFE
Apr 9, 2012, 10:04 AM
The 128GB limit is a hardware limitation, not an OS limitation (as long as you are using Mac OS 10.2+). Tiger has nothing to do with it.

parish
Apr 9, 2012, 10:16 AM
The 128GB limit is a hardware limitation, not an OS limitation (as long as you are using Mac OS 10.2+). Tiger has nothing to do with it.

The limit is only for the boot volume then?

eyoungren
Apr 9, 2012, 10:24 AM
My understanding is that this is a hardware limitation period, not just the boot volume - but I'm no expert.

This might help. (http://www.intechusa.com/ATA6.html) Inetech Speedtools ATA High Capacity driver. It's a high capacity driver that loads at boot time and allows you to see the full volume of the boot drive. The only downside is that you have to have one 127GB partition and a second partition. But that's better than 4 or more.

parish
Apr 9, 2012, 12:06 PM
Ah, this is me being thick isn't it?

The limit applies to internal disks, but not external ones, hence why my 490GB FW drive works?

adcx64
Apr 9, 2012, 12:10 PM
^yes

The limit is in the IDE controller. This is why the firewire drive works fine.