PDA

View Full Version : How to identify if a G5 can take more then 4GB of memory?




mrrhtuner
Apr 14, 2012, 02:32 PM
Hello everybody, this is my first post but I am a long time lurker. I came across a Dual Core 2.0ghz G5.

it currently has 4gb of memory and a 160gb hard drive.
I have read on the internet that some of the Dual Core G5's can have a max of 4gb of memory and some can be 8gb.

How could I identify this G5 and find out what I can and can't do it it?

Thank you!


edit: Following this site, so it would seem that if the G5 has 8 slots, it can take 8gb of memory?
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2248
So 4 slots are restricted to 1gb in each slot?



Nameci
Apr 14, 2012, 02:34 PM
16GB for a dual core...

http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/powermac_g5/specs/powermac_g5_dual_2.0.html

mrrhtuner
Apr 14, 2012, 02:52 PM
Thank you Nameci, excuse me for being so new at this...I am looking to buy a Mac Pro and have it as a unit to play around with(OS and such).

From that link you posted, it states it can go upto 16gigs, but is that slot dependent?

I have the Serial Number of the Mac Pro(YM5260JNRU2), and I've used the following site:
http://www.appleserialnumberinfo.com/Desktop/index.php

but it seems it identifies as max memory as 4gb.

and using the Apple page it would seem like, it being a Early 2005 model it only takes the following:

Dual 2.0 GHz
Power Mac G5 (Early 2005)

4

4 GB

PC3200

DDR SDRAM

184-pin DIMM

Up to 1GB




Any ideas? will 16gig still work and the article is just out of wack?

Thank you

mrrhtuner
Apr 14, 2012, 03:10 PM
This is a bit annoying because now I came across this link that show you can put in 16gb
http://www.memoryx.net/appomacg5du25.html



I am confused on why apple's site and the other SN site state 4gb but others state 16gb?

Giuly
Apr 14, 2012, 03:22 PM
PowerMac G5 (June 2003): Expandable up to 4 GB (1.6Ghz) or 8.0 GB (1.8Ghz+)
PowerMac G5 (June 2004): Expandable up to 4 GB (DP 1.8Ghz) or 8.0 GB (DP 2.0Ghz+)
PowerMac G5 (Late 2004): Expandable up to 4 GB
PowerMac G5 (Early 2005): Expandable up to 4 GB (DP 2.0Ghz) or 8.0 GB (DP 2.3Ghz+)
PowerMac G5 (Late 2005): Expandable up to 16GB

Nameci
Apr 14, 2012, 03:53 PM
Thank you Nameci, excuse me for being so new at this...I am looking to buy a Mac Pro and have it as a unit to play around with(OS and such).

From that link you posted, it states it can go upto 16gigs, but is that slot dependent?

I have the Serial Number of the Mac Pro(YM5260JNRU2), and I've used the following site:
http://www.appleserialnumberinfo.com/Desktop/index.php

but it seems it identifies as max memory as 4gb.

and using the Apple page it would seem like, it being a Early 2005 model it only takes the following:

Dual 2.0 GHz
Power Mac G5 (Early 2005)

4

4 GB

PC3200

DDR SDRAM

184-pin DIMM

Up to 1GB




Any ideas? will 16gig still work and the article is just out of wack?

Thank you

Basing on the serial number, you have the early 2005 powermac 2.GHz dual processor. It is not a dual core powermac G5. It can only take up to 4GB of DDR RAM.

----------

This is a bit annoying because now I came across this link that show you can put in 16gb
http://www.memoryx.net/appomacg5du25.html



I am confused on why apple's site and the other SN site state 4gb but others state 16gb?

Dual Core powermacs are from "late" 2005. Yours are from "early 2005".