PDA

View Full Version : Graphic Cards Quad G5




sk8er123
Apr 18, 2012, 02:11 PM
Hello all, this is kind of a stupid question and I don't know why I'm asking it but can a Quad g5 have a Quadro FX 4500 AND a nVidia GeForce 7800GTX 512MB at the same time? Thanks for looking at my pointless question.:)



tayloralmond
Apr 18, 2012, 02:21 PM
Hello all, this is kind of a stupid question and I don't know why I'm asking it but can a Quad g5 have a Quadro FX 4500 AND a nVidia GeForce 7800GTX 512MB at the same time? Thanks for looking at my pointless question.:)

Technically, yes you can. The problem is only one PCI-E slot is a "16 lane" slot. The others are "8 lane" and "4 lane." So while you can technically use them both, the Quadro won't be able to run at its full potential. In all reality, if you wanted to run a dual GPU setup, you may want to purchase a cheaper card for the 8x slot.

thorns
Apr 18, 2012, 04:09 PM
The biggest problem would be the extra power connector needed to get the second card running. I don't know if there is an adaptor to connect the proprietary connector to the DVD drive's power cable.

sk8er123
Apr 18, 2012, 06:22 PM
thanks for both the post! I now understand. I have a question: is a way to flash a dell nVidia 7800gtx to run on a Quad g5? thnx:)

tayloralmond
Apr 18, 2012, 06:32 PM
thanks for both the post! I now understand. I have a question: is a way to flash a dell nVidia 7800gtx to run on a Quad g5? thnx:)

My Quad has a flashed 7800GTX, so it's definitely doable. You just need to track down the ROM image and put the card into a PC and flash it. You can't flash it while it's in a Mac.

Whargoul
Apr 28, 2012, 09:46 AM
Forget the 7800 series, its weak. The X1900 was designed for the G5 PowerMac and its much more pwoerful.

VanneDC
Apr 28, 2012, 11:51 AM
lol :D