PDA

View Full Version : Is a MacPro 2009 case suitable for re-homing a MacPro 2008 (MacPro3,1)




MisterNem
Apr 19, 2012, 09:17 AM
Hi all,

I think I can probably guess the answer here, but thought it worth checking with the experts just in case.

The enclosure of my MacPro 2008 (MacPro3,1) has been damaged for sometime (sad days :(). I've been searching for a reasonably priced 2008 enclosure, but I guess given it's 4 years old now, it's proving very hard to come by, especially at a reasonable price. I have however found quite a few reasonably priced 2009 enclosures.

I'm therefore wondering if anyone could confirm whether it would be possible to re-home my 2008 MacPro in the 2009 enclosure, and if so any potential issues things I should look out for.

Having checked interior bare case photos for both, I notice a couple of things which might be a problem - 1) the screw locations for securing the motherboard are different, 2) not sure if the 2009 case has the RAM Riser Card.

I'm guessing it's probably not possible (at least without some customisation?), but would appreciate any feedback from anyone a little more clued up than myself.

Thanks in advance!



GoCubsGo
Apr 19, 2012, 09:19 AM
I seriously doubt you could do this easily. Bummer really. :(

Photovore
Apr 19, 2012, 02:25 PM
Well, they're both big aluminum boxes, the same size, so with an unknown amount of work (somewhere between "none" and "moderate custom machining and placement of metal bits") it should be possible, though as jessica says probably not easy. BUT, if I were at that point, I might wonder, "how are my cabinet-making skills? time to learn?" ... Use applewood for the case of course! Varnish or stain it up all pretty & write an article!

minifridge1138
Apr 19, 2012, 03:07 PM
Possible: Yes.
Worth the effort: Probably not.