PDA

View Full Version : DP3 Install Failure




thertrain
Apr 20, 2012, 03:32 PM
Has anyone had trouble installing DP3? 1 and 2 installed fine on my 2011 13" MBP but Installer crashes each time I try to install 3. I've restored back to Lion.



Chucko
Apr 20, 2012, 07:59 PM
Are we really the only 2 with this problem?

Brad9893
Apr 20, 2012, 08:34 PM
I have the problem too. When installing, the installer either stalls at around eight minutes left, or the installer looks like it completes with the progress bar at 100%, but it never actually finishes. In that instance the time remaining just keeps going into the negatives. It said "About -15 minutes remaining" before I just killed the install.

Chucko
Apr 20, 2012, 08:38 PM
That's funny, mine gives me numbers like "312,548,123 hours and 15 minutes remaining".

thertrain
Apr 20, 2012, 10:11 PM
My computer seem permanently screwed now. Once back at Lion, I can no longer install DP1 or DP2. Installer crashes every time at the exact same point.

WAM2
Apr 20, 2012, 10:13 PM
I Think I Can help, do you have skype or something? Easier to communicate on there.

WAM2
Apr 20, 2012, 10:26 PM
How to correctly install:


Fresh copy of DP3, restored to a flash drive or burned to dvd. Boot from it, open disk utility and partition the harddrive to one, make sure its Mac OS Extended (Journaled), close disk utility, press reinstall mac os x, install onto the partition, if the installer fails, dont press anything just hold the power button down and let it restart and it should boot.

McKs
Apr 21, 2012, 03:44 AM
How to correctly install:


Fresh copy of DP3, restored to a flash drive or burned to dvd. Boot from it, open disk utility and partition the harddrive to one, make sure its Mac OS Extended (Journaled), close disk utility, press reinstall mac os x, install onto the partition, if the installer fails, dont press anything just hold the power button down and let it restart and it should boot.

Mine failed too several times trying to update dp2. I wiped the drive and clean installed dp3. Then I succesfully used to migration assistent that pops up to import my users, apps etc from my working 10.6.8 drive.

Mr. Retrofire
Apr 21, 2012, 09:56 AM
My computer seem permanently screwed now. Once back at Lion, I can no longer install DP1 or DP2. Installer crashes every time at the exact same point.
Why do you think Apple calls it a DP? It is certainly not a toy for little boys & girls.

thertrain
Apr 21, 2012, 01:25 PM
Happy to report I was able to get everything installed late last night. Here is how I did it.

1. Install a fresh copy of Lion, so the computer is back and functioning correctly.
2. Update the EFI Firmware that was released in the past month or so.
3. Reset PRAM & NVRAM
4. Installed DP1
5. Installed DP3

The whole process took a couple hours but everything is up and running.

Hope this helps

jabbawok
Apr 21, 2012, 03:48 PM
Why do you think Apple calls it a DP? It is certainly not a toy for little boys & girls.

There's all ways one...

thertrain
Apr 21, 2012, 04:13 PM
There's all ways one...

I know, you can never have a full conversation thread without at least one :p