PDA

View Full Version : Airport Express - can I do coax digital vs optical?




Adam12hicks
Apr 24, 2012, 04:24 PM
My Yamaha sound bar unfortunately only has 2x optical inputs which were quickly allocated. It has a free coax digital input but I'm not finding anything that says I can run an adapter from an 1/8th inch jack to coax digital. Can this be done?

I appreciate any assistance!



peetah
Apr 24, 2012, 04:39 PM
You need one of this (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0002GV876/ref=pd_lpo_k2_dp_sr_1?pf_rd_p=486539851&pf_rd_s=lpo-top-stripe-1&pf_rd_t=201&pf_rd_i=B002HEFJBW&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=1Z5KRNP7A4MBTVQHTVZV) and one of this (http://www.amazon.com/3-5MM-TO-TOSLINK-FIBER-OPTIC-CABLE-TOSLINK-mini-Toslink/dp/B00006LVF3)

3.5mm optical jack to toslink cable. Then a converter from toslink to digital coax.

asalaja
Apr 24, 2012, 04:45 PM
You can also get it from monoprice.com:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=104&cp_id=10423&cs_id=1042302&p_id=2948&seq=1&format=2

and
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10229&cs_id=1022902&p_id=1556&seq=1&format=2

You need one of this (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0002GV876/ref=pd_lpo_k2_dp_sr_1?pf_rd_p=486539851&pf_rd_s=lpo-top-stripe-1&pf_rd_t=201&pf_rd_i=B002HEFJBW&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=1Z5KRNP7A4MBTVQHTVZV) and one of this (http://www.amazon.com/3-5MM-TO-TOSLINK-FIBER-OPTIC-CABLE-TOSLINK-mini-Toslink/dp/B00006LVF3)

3.5mm optical jack to toslink cable. Then a converter from toslink to digital coax.

kyjaotkb
Apr 27, 2012, 06:14 PM
This will help you feed your sound bar with more optical audio inputs:
http://www.amazon.fr/Adaptateur-TosLink-prise-Spdif-optique/dp/B000L12XYY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1335568434&sr=8-1

cheers

Adam12hicks
May 1, 2012, 02:56 PM
Awesome! Thanks guys for the options. I'll check them out. Unfortunately my goofy Yahoo SPAM filter thought this was SPAM so I just happened to see it today.

Thanks again!
Adam