PDA

View Full Version : Quad G5 vs. MDD G4 2x1.42Ghz




abbotkinneydude
Apr 27, 2012, 12:19 AM
Hello everyone !

While I love my trusty (and maxed out) MDD G4 Dual 1.42, I've had my eyes on upgrading to a Quad G5 for quite some time. :D

Simple question: is the Quad G5 much, much faster than the MMD G4 2x1.42 ?

I also have a Black Book 2008 (Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.4 Ghz with 4GB of RAM). Will the Quad G5 top the Black Book 2008 (Penryn) or will it be in between ?

Thanks !



Nameci
Apr 27, 2012, 12:37 AM
The quad will definitely be faster than your dual 1.42 G4. The G5 have a much larger RAM capacity at 16GB max while your G4 has 2GB. Even the dual core 2.3GHz G5 is faster than the DP G4.

I will enumerate to you the pros against the dual G4;
1. Faster bus
2. Faster memory
3. SATA I drive versus EIDE/PATA
4. Larger memory capacity at 16GB
5. Faster processor at 2.5GHz
6. 4 Cores against 2 Cores
7. Better graphics card option (PCIe againsts AGP)
8. USB 2.0 native against USB 1.1

Need I say more?

Now for the cons;
1. Water/Liquid cooled, prone to leak which could damage the CPU while the G4 is air cooled

Now comparing to a macbook, if they both run Leopard, i would pick the quad. The quad benches higher than the black macbook. 4 cores vs 2 cores at almost slight difference in memory speed. It is a no brainer which one to pick.

abbotkinneydude
Apr 27, 2012, 01:00 AM
Thanks for responding so quickly Nameci. I intend to use the Quad G5 for film scoring as well (so far I've been using my black book 2008) and wanted to make sure it would at least match the Black Book in speed (+ I'll max out the Quad with extra ram). I have a soft spot for the Duals MDD G4s; once I replaced their P/S with PC Power Supplies (what a soldering iron job that was !), they felt absolutely perfect to me. Anyway... off to the Quad G5 ! :apple:

tayloralmond
Apr 27, 2012, 01:17 AM
I agree with what Nameci said. The Quads are significantly faster than the MDD's. I own both (although mine's a 1.25GHz) and the Quad is a night and day difference when compared to the MDD. Also, the Quad will be faster than a BlackBook.

abbotkinneydude
Apr 27, 2012, 02:47 PM
Quick question -> Would anyone know where to get a "Quad Core" Power Cable for the Quad G5 ? Thank you.

Colpeas
Apr 27, 2012, 03:16 PM
Quick question -> Would anyone know where to get a "Quad Core" Power Cable for the Quad G5 ? Thank you.

AFAIK the power cord is the same for both quads and duals, innit? They both have 1000W PSUs, although PSU in dual can be replaced with less powerful 710W model... (according to the service manual linked above)

So eBay is the answer.

rickvanr
Apr 27, 2012, 03:54 PM
when my G5 2.7 sprung a leak, I had it replaced for a 2009 Mac Pro.. the power cable from the dual 2.7 G5 worked with the 2009 Mac Pro

Nameci
Apr 27, 2012, 07:16 PM
Quick question -> Would anyone know where to get a "Quad Core" Power Cable for the Quad G5 ? Thank you.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/PowerMac-G5-dual-quad-AC-power-cord-rectangle-6-ft-long-/160713469064?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item256b44ec88#ht_1430wt_1185

Found it for you in less than a minute. There is this site that is called ebay.

abbotkinneydude
Apr 27, 2012, 08:25 PM
Thanks Nameci ! Didn't think of it. I try to stick to Other World Computing for most of my Mac needs; I should consider Ebay as well. ;)

Nameci
Apr 27, 2012, 08:55 PM
More sources, better options, better choices.

Hrududu
Apr 27, 2012, 09:01 PM
You can still get the cables directly from Apple too. I got one for myself last fall when I was working at an Apple Authorized Service Provider.

G51989
Apr 28, 2012, 12:03 AM
You can still get the cables directly from Apple too. I got one for myself last fall when I was working at an Apple Authorized Service Provider.

Pretty sure most G5s use any generic power cable, at least mine does.

DrakkenWar
Apr 28, 2012, 12:10 AM
All the G5's use the same cable as the G4's and G3's to be honest. Cheap, easy to find. Be for warned, when you acquire 2 and leave them in a box in your closet for around a week you will end up with around 2 to 4 dozen...:D

~Drake

VanneDC
Apr 28, 2012, 07:33 AM
Not so, the quad and the dual core models use the heavier/bigger cable. My one in new Zealand didn't come with it and there bloody deer to have to buy one off the bat.

Intell
Apr 28, 2012, 02:13 PM
Most consumer computers use the IEC 60320 C13/C14 standard, which maxes out at 15 amps, for power plugs:
337682


Devices that use over 1000watts of power, like the later PowerMac G5s, mid-2000's high end Dell XPS gaming computers, and some servers use the IEC 60320 C19/C20 standard, which maxes out at 20 amps:
337683

abbotkinneydude
Apr 28, 2012, 03:25 PM
Is $350 a good price for a near mint Quad G5 w/out Power Cable ?

Update: the more I use Craigslist (Los Angeles), the more I see a $400-$600 range for Quad G5s but, most of the time, you can sense they've been very much used so just wondering what would an avid PPC user pay for the pinnacle of PPC towers. Thanks.

Nameci
Apr 28, 2012, 03:46 PM
Quad G5's are around 300 to 350 range. Souped up ones would go as high as 500.