PDA

View Full Version : Starting off, need to find a OSX machine!

Jcyochum
Apr 28, 2012, 01:58 PM
Hey all! I'm totally new to programming, and I'm looking to take a dive into the programming world to see if its something I'd be interested in majoring or minoring in, and I'd really like to start on a mac. Can anyone recommend a mac laptop in the sub $250 range that will not bottle neck me potentially developing anything down the line?

Also, maybe good recommendations on C books for a complete newbie? I've done some poking around and found a couple people have recommended here. One being the big nerd ranch guide on Objective-C http://www.amazon.com/Objective-C-Programming-Ranch-Guide-Guides/dp/0321706285/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1335634456&sr=1-2#productPromotions. Ideally I want to exclusively focus on touch interface programming I.E Ipad, Iphone , Android, windows phones.

Any help or direction is greatly appreciated, thanks all!

miles01110
Apr 28, 2012, 02:29 PM
Can anyone recommend a mac laptop in the sub $250 range that will not bottle neck me potentially developing anything down the line?

For $250 you will not be able to develop anything for modern iDevices nor much that would be useful for current Macs.

Bug-Creator
Apr 28, 2012, 02:54 PM
Dunno, 250$ should be sufficent to get him a 1st gen MacBook in not-so-good condition and should therefore allow Snow Leopard and an XCode version sufficient to create iOS-apps.

Not the latest and the greatest but for someone literally starting at "Hello World" it will make due for atleast the 1st few years....

Jcyochum
Apr 28, 2012, 03:27 PM
For $250 you will not be able to develop anything for modern iDevices nor much that would be useful for current Macs.