PDA

View Full Version : Using ATV2 with AV receiver On zone2




jata1
May 2, 2012, 03:29 PM
Hi all,

I have an atv2 and use it all the time. I am planning to buy a mid range av receiver e.g. Yamaha rx v671 that you can setup as a 5.1 + 2 on zone2 . I wanted to use the zone2 outside using AirPlay via the atv but there are some issues that i hope you can help me with.

1. Zone2 on mid range receivers can only use analogue inputs and not digital/hdmi.
2. Atv2 only has digital outputs
3. A few mid range receivers have party mode that will allow zone1 play on both zones at once but this means you can't play music outside while others watch a film in the living room

Anyway, I think I have a solution that it would be good to test out. I want to buy a digital to RCA adapter so I can connect the optical out from the atv to an analogue input on the reciever. So if I want AirPlay from my atv on zone2 I run it from the analogue input. The other advantage of this is that I can have both zones playing from the atv at the same time as main zone using hdmi and zone2 using the analogue source from the optical atv output.

Can anyone confirm if this will work?

Many thanks



rayward
May 2, 2012, 03:51 PM
I want to buy a digital to RCA adapter so I can connect the optical out from the atv to an analogue input on the reciever. So if I want AirPlay from my atv on zone2 I run it from the analogue input. The other advantage of this is that I can have both zones playing from the atv at the same time as main zone using hdmi and zone2 using the analogue source from the optical atv output.

Can anyone confirm if this will work?

Many thanks

I have this exact set-up (with an ATV3). It works very well, with the exception that the HDMI feed runs a little slower than the optional audio feed, due to the video processing happening on the HDMI feed. This puts the two zones fractionally out of sync, which is only noticeable when standing at the door when it's open.

jata1
May 2, 2012, 04:08 PM
Thanks. That's great to know that it will work. Can't you solve the sync issue somehow. I thought most receivers had a way to solve this using audio offset/delay or something.

Thanks again for your response. What av receiver do you have?

gmanWA
May 2, 2012, 04:31 PM
I have post on my blog that explains this (http://www.garth.org/archives/2011,08,27,152,itunes-home-theater-how-to-integrate-with-ipad-iphone-other-ios-devices-av-receiver-and-tv.html)

EvilC5
May 2, 2012, 05:41 PM
Why not just pick up a used airport express for zone 2, that's what I have for mine.

Penquin79
May 2, 2012, 05:44 PM
Have the same issue and same desire to have music outside and movie indoors. My final solution for those rare occasions is to use my iTouch as the audio input to zone 2. No need for a converter. ITouch of course streams from the iTunes library, only problem is you can't remote control the iTouch from outside. But upside is still have optical input from ATV for the movie audio.