PDA

View Full Version : Please Help - Installing Soy Latte




hqrry
May 5, 2012, 06:16 AM
Hey, i really don't have a clue what to do, i want 1.6 Java, so i can host a minecraft server, but as a PPC doesn't have 1.6 i can't, i found out about Soy Latte, and would love for someone to help me, i tried to follow a tutorial, but my computer said i didn't have a .profile. (I'm on 1.5.8)
I can give teamviewer details, please help!



kryten2
May 5, 2012, 04:52 PM
Perhaps you can provide some more information? A link to the tutorial you tried to follow would be nice. If you don't have .profile file, you can make one. Open Terminal en put in the following line.

nano .profile

Put your stuff in the .profile file and save with ctrl0 --> indicated in nano at the bottom with ^O WriteOut then ^X to Exit.

hqrry
May 7, 2012, 11:58 AM
this was the tutorial, was it completely correct, or could you help?
http://vimeo.com/3732416

kryten2
May 7, 2012, 02:43 PM
First of all I don't use or have minecraft. Secondly the explanation in the video isn't exactly rocket science now is it? You need this : http://http://landonf.bikemonkey.org/static/soylatte/bsd-dist/openjdk7_darwin/openjdk7-macppc-2009-12-16-b4.tar.bz2

Double click the openjdk7-macppc-2009-12-16-b4.tar.bz2 file and rename the folder it creates to openjdk7-macppc. Open the Terminal app. You can find it in the Applications-->Utilities folder and type in the line nano .profile followed by enter. Put in .profile file the line that starts with export :

# change the line to the right location for you eg where you unpacked the #openjdk7-macppc-2009-12-16-b4.tar.bz2 file
export PATH=/Users/test/Downloads/openjdk7-macppc/bin:$PATH

On your desktop make folder with name minecraft_server and put in the folder the minecraft_server.jar file and the start.command file I will provide as attachement. To start the server go to the minecraft_server folder in Finder and double click the start.command file. To test I started it but got bored after a few minutes as I have a Leopard ppc machine with only 512Mb of ram. Good luck.

hqrry
May 7, 2012, 03:24 PM
once I've done all of that, clicked start.command, it comes up with a terminal window and says after it attempting to load it: Bad CPU Excutable

kryten2
May 7, 2012, 04:08 PM
Bad CPU Executable means you're using the wrong java for your architecture or trying to run 64bit on 32bit cpu. It's either PPC or Intel. Post a screenshot of the output of echo $PATH in Terminal and a screenshot of About This Mac.

hqrry
May 8, 2012, 11:58 AM
heres all the photos/screenshots requested.
(I renamed the folder soylatte, instead of what you said)

kryten2
May 8, 2012, 12:17 PM
Don't see any screenshots

hqrry
May 8, 2012, 12:21 PM
Sorry i'd got it up and running, i realised my fault, thanks, but now im getting this error? :/ This happens when i click the start.command.

kryten2
May 8, 2012, 12:42 PM
Sorry, can't help you with that. Might be Java 7 related. Try Google.