PDA

View Full Version : Home Sharing needs iTunes to be running?




Maury
May 11, 2012, 05:13 AM
I have a Pro with my old DVD collection on it, and an ATV downstairs. My Network is an Extreme, the one-old model. I have Home Sharing turned on between the two.

Unless iTunes is actively running on the machine, and the machine is awake, Home Sharing content does not appear on the ATV.

I was under the impression that the Express was supposed to act as a mediator, waking my Mac on demand. It used to work. Is this no longer the case?

I can understand having the mac awake to download content, but just to browse file is annoying.



chenks
May 11, 2012, 05:24 AM
yes your mac/pc needs to be awake and itunes needs to be running.

the appletv is able to awake your mac/pc (my 2 do).

Ccrew
May 11, 2012, 05:55 AM
yes your mac/pc needs to be awake and itunes needs to be running.

the appletv is able to awake your mac/pc (my 2 do).

Yeah, may have to check if "Wake on Network Access" setting is enabled in System Preferences/Energy Saver

Maury
May 15, 2012, 05:57 AM
Yeah, may have to check if "Wake on Network Access" setting is enabled in System Preferences/Energy Saver

It is, no worky. Worked before 10.7.

heisenberg123
May 15, 2012, 06:28 AM
I have wake for network access checked and my atv3 does not wake my MBP in my signature running latest iTunes

GarrettL1979
May 15, 2012, 06:38 AM
Same problem for me. This is a widespread issue. Not sure why apple hasn't fixed it yet.

JPGR_Fan
May 15, 2012, 08:38 AM
With your music on iTunes Match, ATV2 will play all your tunes and your Mac doesn't need to be on. $25/year. Also get your tunes on iPhone and iPad. Such a deal. (edit: Sorry, I missed that this was about DVDs)

chenks
May 15, 2012, 09:53 AM
Same problem for me. This is a widespread issue. Not sure why apple hasn't fixed it yet.

widespread?
I have 2 appletv's and they both wake up my mac mini with no problems. Mac mini running 10.7.4.

waw74
May 15, 2012, 10:26 AM
make sure itunes is running, if it's not running when the computer goes to sleep, the express won't hold on to it for you.

the feature you're referring to is call "sleep proxy"

also try rebooting all of your network gear.

heisenberg123
May 15, 2012, 10:40 AM
make sure itunes is running, if it's not running when the computer goes to sleep, the express won't hold on to it for you.

the feature you're referring to is call "sleep proxy"

also try rebooting all of your network gear.

would it make any difference if it was sleeping in clamshell mode?

GarrettL1979
May 15, 2012, 11:18 AM
widespread?
I have 2 appletv's and they both wake up my mac mini with no problems. Mac mini running 10.7.4.

yep. glad it works for you though.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=14643871#post14643871

chenks
May 15, 2012, 11:54 AM
yep. glad it works for you though.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=14643871#post14643871

25 posts in 1 thread hardly makes it a widespread issue.
i'm not denying you have an issue, but it's more likely to be individual config issues rather than widespread non-functionality.

hafr
May 15, 2012, 12:18 PM
would it make any difference if it was sleeping in clamshell mode?

Are we talking no external monitor? In that case, there is no way you can make the ATV wake your MBP up. The lid has to be open in order for wake on lan to work.

heisenberg123
May 15, 2012, 12:21 PM
Are we talking no external monitor? In that case, there is no way you can make the ATV wake your MBP up. The lid has to be open in order for wake on lan to work.

no its hooked up to an external monitor but you may of answered my question, does wake for network access only work on a LAN connection?

----------

25 posts in 1 thread hardly makes it a widespread issue.
i'm not denying you have an issue, but it's more likely to be individual config issues rather than widespread non-functionality.

not denying your is working but a simple google search shows more than 25 people have this issue

http://www.google.ca/#hl=en&safe=active&sclient=psy-ab&q=apple+tv+3+does+not+wake+up+macbook+pro&oq=apple+tv+3+does+not+wake+up+macbook+pro&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&gs_l=hp.3...316396.316599.1.316724.2.2.0.0.0.0.0.0..0.0...0.0.NDHNDW0rSnU&pbx=1&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.r_qf.,cf.osb&fp=617f732f6a1c0bb9&biw=1024&bih=616

GarrettL1979
May 15, 2012, 12:22 PM
I leave my MBP's lid open, so it should be accessible when sleeping.

chenks
May 15, 2012, 01:24 PM
not denying your is working but a simple google search shows more than 25 people have this issue

http://www.google.ca/#hl=en&safe=active&sclient=psy-ab&q=apple+tv+3+does+not+wake+up+macbook+pro&oq=apple+tv+3+does+not+wake+up+macbook+pro&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&gs_l=hp.3...316396.316599.1.316724.2.2.0.0.0.0.0.0..0.0...0.0.NDHNDW0rSnU&pbx=1&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.r_qf.,cf.osb&fp=617f732f6a1c0bb9&biw=1024&bih=616

that's the thing with google search. i could search for almost anything and find a group of people complaining about it not working.

you don't get masses of people posting saying that everything is working fine with no issues.

hafr
May 15, 2012, 01:32 PM
does wake for network access only work on a LAN connection?

Yes. But LAN includes wireless, if that was your concern :)

heisenberg123
May 15, 2012, 01:44 PM
Yes. But LAN includes wireless, if that was your concern :)

well thanks for leason #2 i always thought LAN was just plugged into ethernet

maybe its my router that isnt capable of waking my mbp for network access

GarrettL1979
May 15, 2012, 01:44 PM
well thanks for leason #2 i always thought LAN was just plugged into ethernet

maybe its my router that isnt capable of waking my mbp for network access

I'm using a brand new AEBS, so I don't think it's a router issue.

jetlife2
May 15, 2012, 03:15 PM
So the ATV will wake your "server" (imac, macbook, etc, usually in some other room) on network access...(assuming it is working properly).

The next step that would be awesome would be a script on the server side that detects the Wake Reason as network access from the ATV - then launches itunes. It is annoying to have to go do this manually and I for one don't usually have itunes running in the background all the time.

Then we could just fire up the ATV and be good to go as needed without having to remember itunes, or go in the other room and fix it.

radiogoober
May 15, 2012, 03:36 PM
Just leave iTunes running and Cmd-H to hide it.

mpossjr
May 15, 2012, 06:26 PM
So the ATV will wake your "server" (imac, macbook, etc, usually in some other room) on network access...(assuming it is working properly).

The next step that would be awesome would be a script on the server side that detects the Wake Reason as network access from the ATV - then launches itunes. It is annoying to have to go do this manually and I for one don't usually have itunes running in the background all the time.

Then we could just fire up the ATV and be good to go as needed without having to remember itunes, or go in the other room and fix it.

This is a great point. ATV should do everything for you. I leave my itunes running all the time now that I have ATV and use it daily. It should wake up my computer and start itunes (and shut it down after a period of inactivity)

I get pissed when I sit down to watch a TV show and realize my itunes is off. I then have to get my lazy az off the couch and walk all the way to the next room to turn it on.:p

btbrossard
May 15, 2012, 09:39 PM
For what it's worth, my ATV has had a hard time waking my Mac mini from sleep recently to play content.

It's always worked fine in the past. And when it does wake the mini, sometimes it will start playing fine but error out before the movie is over indicating we need to turn on home sharing.

My setup is an ATV 2, a mid 2010 Mac mini (10.7.4), and an Airport Extreme all hard wired.

whooleytoo
May 16, 2012, 06:05 AM
I use the ATV pretty much every day when I get home from work, so now I set my 'server' Mac to boot up automatically around 7pm on weekdays, and iTunes is set to launch on login. It's set to auto-shutdown in the early hours of the morning too.

It's not as energy-efficient as a (functional) wake-on-access feature, but it works ok for me.

EmpyreanUK
May 16, 2012, 08:54 AM
So the ATV will wake your "server" (imac, macbook, etc, usually in some other room) on network access...(assuming it is working properly).

The next step that would be awesome would be a script on the server side that detects the Wake Reason as network access from the ATV - then launches itunes. It is annoying to have to go do this manually and I for one don't usually have itunes running in the background all the time.

Then we could just fire up the ATV and be good to go as needed without having to remember itunes, or go in the other room and fix it.
I think a problem with such a script would be that the Apple TV wouldn't know to wake the Mac in the first place. As the Apple TV doesn't look for sleeping computers, and instead monitors the network for instances of iTunes that have registered themselves as available through Home Sharing.

GarrettL1979
May 16, 2012, 09:20 AM
I use the ATV pretty much every day when I get home from work, so now I set my 'server' Mac to boot up automatically around 7pm on weekdays, and iTunes is set to launch on login. It's set to auto-shutdown in the early hours of the morning too.

It's not as energy-efficient as a (functional) wake-on-access feature, but it works ok for me.

I've resorted to doing the same with my MBP. Well, almost the same. I set my MBP to wake at 6pm and sleep at midnight. I would vastly prefer the wake on network access function over this option, but this works in the meantime.

heisenberg123
May 16, 2012, 09:30 AM
I've resorted to doing the same with my MBP. Well, almost the same. I set my MBP to wake at 6pm and sleep at midnight. I would vastly prefer the wake on network access function over this option, but this works in the meantime.

i may have to resort to the same i tried everything i read to try, reset the router, the mbp, reset SMC, luckily my mbp is in the same room as my TV so its only a small walk to hit the keyboard to wake it up but non the less its be nice if it worked


other than using unessesary hydro is there any harm in chossing NEVER sleep when on power supply?

radiogoober
May 16, 2012, 10:34 AM
i may have to resort to the same i tried everything i read to try, reset the router, the mbp, reset SMC, luckily my mbp is in the same room as my TV so its only a small walk to hit the keyboard to wake it up but non the less its be nice if it worked


other than using unessesary hydro is there any harm in chossing NEVER sleep when on power supply?

No harm whatsoever.

danny_w
May 16, 2012, 10:40 AM
What bothers me is not that my iMac has to be running but that the internet has to be working and the iTunes Store has to be available, which it sometimes has not been here lately. It is just plain dumb and frustrating that Home Sharing requires access to Apple's servers even to view local content from my own computer. Without their servers the :apple:TV 2 and 3 are useless for viewing any kind of local content.

GarrettL1979
May 16, 2012, 10:53 AM
No harm whatsoever.

Really? It seems strange to never let it sleep!