PDA

View Full Version : Toggling Bonjour (mDNSResponder) now cant connect to the internet




eugenekhay
May 12, 2012, 08:00 PM
Hello

So I had a small problem and while trying to fix it I created a big problem.

A day ago every time my iMac (10.7.4) awoke from sleep it had this message:

This Computer's local hostname "NAME" is already in use on this network. The name has been changed to "NAME"

I found this thread: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=883927
which had some suggestions.

I took this suggestion:

Toggle Bonjour On/Off

Launch the terminal and type:

To turn Bonjour off:

sudo launchctl unload -w /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.mDNSResponder.plist

To turn it back on:

sudo launchctl load -w /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.mDNSResponder.plist

And now my internet does not work.

I am able to ping my router IP address but the signal will not go any further. I do not know what I changed but now I am stuck with no internet on that computer.

Also I have parallels installed on the iMac and when I access the internet through windows it works. So when I performed that toggle I must have messed something up, but I cant figure out what.

Please help me.:confused:



Mattie Num Nums
May 12, 2012, 10:00 PM
Hello

So I had a small problem and while trying to fix it I created a big problem.

A day ago every time my iMac (10.7.4) awoke from sleep it had this message:

This Computer's local hostname "NAME" is already in use on this network. The name has been changed to "NAME"

I found this thread: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=883927
which had some suggestions.

I took this suggestion:

Toggle Bonjour On/Off

Launch the terminal and type:

To turn Bonjour off:

sudo launchctl unload -w /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.mDNSResponder.plist

To turn it back on:

sudo launchctl load -w /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.mDNSResponder.plist

And now my internet does not work.

I am able to ping my router IP address but the signal will not go any further. I do not know what I changed but now I am stuck with no internet on that computer.

Also I have parallels installed on the iMac and when I access the internet through windows it works. So when I performed that toggle I must have messed something up, but I cant figure out what.

Please help me.:confused:

What is your parallels computer name?

eugenekhay
May 13, 2012, 12:07 AM
What is your parallels computer name?

My parallels computer has a different name then my Mac. This problem only started happening a few days ago after I did a software update, I have had parallels installed for a while. But my main problem is the fact that I can get onto the internet at all right now.

lefooey
May 13, 2012, 12:15 AM
Restart your router. Is it an Apple router (Airport Express, Airport Extreme, Time Capsule)?

eugenekhay
May 13, 2012, 08:22 PM
Restart your router. Is it an Apple router (Airport Express, Airport Extreme, Time Capsule)?

I have a verizon fios router and an airport extreme bridged through it for better in other parts of the house.

My mac has connection to both routers.

I called verizon and we went through resetting both routers and all network settings on the computer.

The problem is with some thing that happened when I toggled mDNSresponder ON/OFF as soon as I did that I was no longer able to connect to the internet. Every browser chrome/safari/firefox say they cannot get a connection.

Chrome says DNS lookup failed.

eugenekhay
May 14, 2012, 04:44 PM
does anybody else have any suggestions please, I have tried resetting network, is there anything else that I can reset?

mystic08
Sep 11, 2013, 02:30 AM
Have same exact problem. Somebody please come through with a solution!!! :confused::confused::confused::confused::confused: