PDA

View Full Version : Mail and Exchange Server




theCRAR
May 17, 2012, 03:58 AM
Hi,

i am currently using the latest DP with yesterday's update installed. When I create an Exchange Server mail account I provide the mail server address as internal. Works fine. but next time the mail app checks for mail it automatically fills in the internal server name (although I am not in the internal domain), hence I can not receive mail (nor calendar sync..). Same happens if i provide both internal and external server address. Any idea? Hint? Advice?

thx
C.



theCRAR
May 20, 2012, 05:16 AM
has anyone of you experienced the same problem?

Cheers,
Chris

MisterMe
May 20, 2012, 08:57 AM
It sounds like you need create Locations within the Network preferences pane that are appropriate to wherever you are using your computer.

theCRAR
Jun 2, 2012, 06:45 AM
It sounds like you need create Locations within the Network preferences pane that are appropriate to wherever you are using your computer.

Thanks for the advice, but it seems as if the server could push it's internal address to the external pane in the mail app. :confused:

MisterMe
Jun 2, 2012, 09:39 AM
Thanks for the advice, but it seems as if the server could push it's internal address to the external pane in the mail app. :confused:We are talking about Exchange Server here. Na´ve users label under the false premise that Exchange Server is one thing. It is not. The Vulcan philosophy "Infinite Diversity in Infinite Combinations" seems appropriate. By this, I mean that Exchange Server is whatever your IT staff says it is. Unlike Vulcans, your IT staff often does not use logic to decide how to setup your Exchange Server. One of the things that your IT staff often says is that you cannot access your Exchange Server from outside domains.

theCRAR
Jun 3, 2012, 01:49 AM
We are talking about Exchange Server here. Na´ve users label under the false premise that Exchange Server is one thing. It is not. The Vulcan philosophy "Infinite Diversity in Infinite Combinations" seems appropriate. By this, I mean that Exchange Server is whatever your IT staff says it is. Unlike Vulcans, your IT staff often does not use logic to decide how to setup your Exchange Server. One of the things that your IT staff often says is that you cannot access your Exchange Server from outside domains.

I have no problem accessing the server with Lion's version of mail or from the iPhone. If I configure ML's mail app, it synchronizes mail and I can also send mail. But at random (varying from <1min to 1h) it changes the server name to the internal server address. I can actually watch this happen in the accounts.plist.

MisterMe
Jun 3, 2012, 10:19 AM
I strongly doubt that Mail is doing what you say. It is probably being done by other services that you have enabled and those changes are propagated to Mail.

theCRAR
Jun 3, 2012, 10:28 AM
I strongly doubt that Mail is doing what you say. It is probably being done by other services that you have enabled and those changes are propagated to Mail.

Likely that you are right. I find it puzzling that I can reproduce that behaviour on three machines and on no machine running Lion. Same is true for a friend of mine (developer for SAP) who has the exact same problem with their company's server. Maybe it's a setting on the remote side.

:-(

mkbruce
Jul 13, 2012, 03:42 PM
Same problem here. Internal server name changes and prevents Mail from fetching new mail. Happens after some amount of time. I'm not using any location managers, including Apples - I only have the default location configured.

pyrodex
Jul 14, 2012, 06:59 AM
Does your exchange administrator have autodiscover turned on by chance? If they do I wonder if you autodiscover a different address internally on your machine than externally? Are these machines by chance in the office full time or roaming machines that leave and come back?

matt2053
Jul 14, 2012, 09:59 AM
I just wanted to report that I added my Exchange account while on my domain, then went home and still was able to fetch mail without a problem. So the issue would seem to be on your server side, not a problem with Mail App or ML (worked fine for me on Lion and ML).

bogatyr
Jul 14, 2012, 10:27 AM
I had no issue configuring Exchange on my ML system. Though we use a publicly available server over HTTPS which doesn't differ from the internal address. Only difference is the authentication when internal vs external for us.

Full disclosure: I admin our Exchange configuration.

digitalfx
Jul 14, 2012, 10:36 AM
No issues here with Exchange w/ Outlook on ML

dmn8
Jul 14, 2012, 07:40 PM
I have the same exact problem. I actually selected the option to rebuild my mailbox and after that Mail will work correctly. The only issue still outstanding is when I switch between the office and outside the office it seems like Mail has to wait for the one connection to timeout and then it switches to the other one, kind of annoying.