PDA

View Full Version : How to restore these applications from a Time Machine backup.




Fyremyst
May 30, 2012, 03:36 PM
I'm trying to restore applications from my time machine backup to my new MBP. The backups are from my iMac. I'm not trying to restore everything, because my iMac is somewhat slow and i don't want my new MBP to be slow also.
I'm trying to restore Wow, Photoshop, and a few other things. I tried to restore photoshop but I got a configuration error.

Thanks for the help



shinobi-81
May 30, 2012, 03:40 PM
You should do a fresh install of the applications, not just copy them over.

Fyremyst
May 30, 2012, 03:46 PM
You should do a fresh install of the applications, not just copy them over.

I really want to restore the applications from the backup disk. I know it can be done. My iMac had to be wiped and it restored all the info and they're working fine.

fhall1
May 30, 2012, 07:56 PM
As far as I know, there's no way to selectively install applications via time machine.

Fyremyst
May 30, 2012, 08:33 PM
then what should I do? Besides re installing it

Bear
May 30, 2012, 08:47 PM
Some Applications you can restore individually, some you will need to do a fresh install.

Games in general tend to be self contained and should be able to be restored individually from the backup. Adobe software is generally not self contained and should be fresh installed.

Mal
May 31, 2012, 08:44 AM
With those applications specifically, you will absolutely have to reinstall them from the original disks. I'm guessing perhaps you don't have those? You'll have to get replacements then.

jW

Fyremyst
May 31, 2012, 02:45 PM
Alrighty then. Thanks. :D

Simplicated
May 31, 2012, 03:10 PM
I'm trying to restore applications from my time machine backup to my new MBP. The backups are from my iMac. I'm not trying to restore everything, because my iMac is somewhat slow and i don't want my new MBP to be slow also.
I'm trying to restore Wow, Photoshop, and a few other things. I tried to restore photoshop but I got a configuration error.

Thanks for the help

Unfortunately the two applications you mentioned require installers. Only apps that are self-contained can be transferred that way.