PDA

View Full Version : Gimp Brushes HELP!




goodknight411
Jul 15, 2005, 05:37 PM
Alright, I downloaded some brushes for Gimp. How the heck do I get them in??? I've tried everything I can think of (not alot I'll grant you) and haven't figured it out. Did a google search and the only instructions I can find are for Windows.

So all you smart people, how do i do this? :confused:



benwa02
Jul 15, 2005, 08:14 PM
Well I have no idea what the hell Gimp is but I have put brushes into photoshop so maybe this can apply.

Try to locate the Gimps brushes folder if it has one, if it does than drag those into that folder and start Gimp or restart Gimp if its already open.

I hope that helps. If not w/e I tried.

goodknight411
Jul 15, 2005, 08:31 PM
Tried that but I don't see any folders, just the application in Finder. I know it has a brushes folder, because all the instructions for windows users say drag and drop into it.

Anyone know how I can see the folder??

goodknight411
Jul 15, 2005, 08:48 PM
It WORKED!!! I found it :p :D :D

Thanks so much.

mreitz
Jul 19, 2007, 07:21 PM
But where do you find the brush file?????

Ive been searching for like two weeks. plz plz plz help me!

iMeowbot
Jul 21, 2007, 09:37 PM
But where do you find the brush file?????
There are several different builds of gimp for the Mac. Would you care to share which one you have? It's tough to offer possible solutions without a good description of what you want to know.

If you have the application version, ctrl-click on the application icon, pick show contents, and you will find a tree of folders with a typical gimp directory structure.

mreitz
Jul 21, 2007, 09:55 PM
There are several different builds of gimp for the Mac. Would you care to share which one you have? It's tough to offer possible solutions without a good description of what you want to know.

If you have the application version, ctrl-click on the application icon, pick show contents, and you will find a tree of folders with a typical gimp directory structure.


thanks so much for the help. (ctrl-click)

I never knew that.

Thanks alot.:D

Redluva55
Jul 8, 2008, 09:55 AM
Ok do you know were i can get good GIMP brushes for the Mac? And how do i insert them!?!?!? Please help!


`q1``

JoshLV
May 9, 2009, 03:47 PM
I have Gimp 2.6 and the cntrl+click App didn't work for me. Any suggestions?

C-lon
Sep 5, 2009, 08:42 PM
I have Gimp 2.6 and the cntrl+click App didn't work for me. Any suggestions?

Me neither.

OmiKnight52
Sep 5, 2009, 09:49 PM
srry if this is off but does anyone know why gimp shows in middle of screen when opened on macbook?

DesignbyNur
Dec 24, 2009, 01:25 AM
You can use photoshopbrush.biz .abr brushes in GIMP.

You need to have at least GIMP version 2.4 or higher at your computer.

Here is a step by step tutorial how to install abr brushes in GIMP here.

http://photoshopbrush.biz/gimp.htm

In this totorial I was using MAC (Snow Leopard) in this tutorial to show you installation of abr brushes.

I used MAC version GIMP 2.6 in this tutorial.