PDA

View Full Version : Can base 13'' Air handle CAD?




iannella
Jun 14, 2012, 05:16 AM
Hi,
I was wondering, how would the 13'' base model go running CAD through bootcamp? Would the processor be able to handle it? Or would I be better off getting the 13'' Pro?
Thanks



bogatyr
Jun 14, 2012, 08:37 AM
Shouldn't be any different on the MBP 13" except less screen real-estate - both use the HD 3000 iGPU. If you need a dGPU you'll need to go to a higher end laptop.

If you want a less generic response, you'll need to post which CAD applications you're speaking of.

dona83
Jun 14, 2012, 09:12 AM
AutoCAD for Mac works great in my 2006 iMac for 2D drawings. Revit/Architectural/MEP in Windows would probably work fine as well but I wouldn't do any rendering on the MBA. We have a couple of workstations that are powerful enough for this task.