PDA

View Full Version : Small fanless PoE gigabit Smart Switch w/DHCP server ?




cube
Jun 18, 2012, 01:25 PM
It's the built-in DHCP server part that is hard to find.

The DHCP server should allow for address reservations.

Fully managed would be OK, but it should still be small, fanless and not too expensive.

Around 8 ports.

Does this exist?

Thanks



belvdr
Jun 18, 2012, 02:32 PM
We had some Cisco 2960s (WS-C2960-8TC-L) that worked very well. I believe they can run DHCP as you describe.

cube
Jun 18, 2012, 03:02 PM
The small 2960s do not provide PoE.

Do you know if it's possible to run a DHCP server in the SG200 or SG300?

Thanks

cube
Jun 18, 2012, 03:13 PM
I don't think it's possible.

Maybe on the compact 3xxx, but they are expensive.

belvdr
Jun 18, 2012, 03:22 PM
Some of those are just way overpriced IMO.

The WS-C2960PD-8TT-L provides 1 PoE and the WS-C2960-24LC-S has 24 PoE. Sorry I missed that point.

The HP 1910 series (http://h17007.www1.hp.com/us/en/products/switches/HP_1910_Switch_Series/index.aspx#JG350A) may work, but I cannot find if they have an internal DHCP server. They do have a lifetime warranty though. We had a couple HP switches connecting an HPC cluster and had no issues with them.

cube
Jun 19, 2012, 12:26 PM
The WS-C2960PD-8TT-L is PoE input.

The manuals of the compact HPs don't talk about any DHCP server.

So, I was looking for an 8x gigabit PoE ethernet router or UTM and found nothing fitting.

My provider only supports their own QoS DSL router, so I want to ignore its lame DHCP server and only add 1 compact device.

belvdr
Jun 19, 2012, 03:59 PM
You might just be out of luck; I'm not sure anything like that is manufactured in an 8-port form factor.

Would it work to get a simple router to handle DHCP and connect to a gigabit switch w/PoE, something like the HP's mentioned above?

Ap0ks
Jun 19, 2012, 05:01 PM
The WS-C2960PD-8TT-L is PoE input.

The manuals of the compact HPs don't talk about any DHCP server.

So, I was looking for an 8x gigabit PoE ethernet router or UTM and found nothing fitting.

My provider only supports their own QoS DSL router, so I want to ignore its lame DHCP server and only add 1 compact device.Looks like a Juniper EX2200-C may fit the bill (well all except expensiveness), 12 gigabit ports, PoE and DHCP but it all comes at a cost :(

cube
Jun 20, 2012, 01:10 AM
Yes, I looked at Juniper, which is very interesting, but it is expensive.

It is a shame that the little Netgear doesn't have a DHCP server.

SingaporeStu
Jun 20, 2012, 01:22 AM
Cisco SG200-08P. But only 4 ports are PoE (802.3af). Good news is they are Gigabit Ethernet ports. As for DHCP server, the data sheet says it supports only option 66 & 67 but there are other layer 2 switching options. Why don't you check the data sheet on the Cisco website? As for price, I don't think its gonna be cheap, but it shouldn't be more expensive than Juniper or such-like brands.

----------

Btw, just curious, what would you use the PoE for?

cube
Jun 20, 2012, 10:51 AM
I think I can just get the little Netgear GS110TP, and use the Airport Extreme's DHCP server, which supports reservations.
Then I can set up an ACL only allowing DHCP, printer, and internet for the untrusted VLAN.

cube
Jun 20, 2012, 11:53 AM
Does anyone know a compact PoE UTM with around 8 gigabit ports?

Thanks

belvdr
Jun 20, 2012, 01:27 PM
Btw, just curious, what would you use the PoE for?

My guesses are phones or wireless APs.

cube
Jun 20, 2012, 03:37 PM
Pros and cons of GS110TP vs SG200-08P ?

Thanks

radiogoober
Jun 20, 2012, 03:48 PM
Pros and cons of GS110TP vs SG200-08P ?

Thanks

I can't give you a pro/con, but I use a Cisco SG200-26, which is in the same class of Cisco switch that you're looking at, without the PoE, and I can say the switch is incredible. Zero issues whatsoever. I'm running a few ridiculous setups on it and it doesn't bat an eye. It just works.

cube
Jun 21, 2012, 10:34 AM
It seems to me that the Netgear offers finer grained port filtering than the Cisco.

macman2023
Jul 8, 2012, 02:18 PM
The most effective way to do what you describe is use a personal router behind the ISP equipment and set up your personal router as the DMZ device. You may also be able to disable the router function or request your ISP do this to allow for your own equipment. If this is something the ISP will do they would usually call it Bridge mode.

I can tell you I have a pair of the Netgear ProSafe GS108T's and they don't do DHCP, they are considered a Smart Switch which is closer to a managed switch than normal but still a far ways off.

havosoki
Aug 1, 2012, 05:20 PM
I can't give you a pro/con, but I use a Cisco SG200-26, which is in the same class of Cisco switch that you're looking at, without the PoE, and I can say the switch is incredible. Zero issues whatsoever. I'm running a few ridiculous setups on it and it doesn't bat an eye. It just works.

It can be a DHCP server as well?

xnetprox
Nov 13, 2012, 09:53 AM
Any particular reason why it needs to have a built-in dhcp server?

I've used this POE switch from Panoptic Technology on a lot of my sites and it can do some pretty advanced VLAN management, which you can then link to a seperate DHCP server in your router: http://www.panoptictechnology.com/pse-8-smart-switch/

Alternatively, if you REALLY need to have the DHCP server as well, this little Mikrotik switch will do it for you: http://routerboard.com/RB750UP

It's only got 5 ports, but it's really cheap (~$60) so buy two if you need more. This one will only output 24V on each port though, so it's not truly 802.3af compliant. Normally POE is 48V. I'm sure there's POE adapters to step up the voltage if you need it, but it's definitely not an ideal solution.